We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Arcadia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcadia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What really makes this place is the care given by both the hosts - both before and during your visit. Nothing is too much trouble. Bookings and advice for both trips and restaurants are all taken are of. I travel a huge amount and this level of care is very very rare. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertmfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
262
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently stayed at Arcadia Lodge and had a fabulous time. David and Brad were exceptional hosts, from their incredibly delicious breakfasts each morning to their recommendations for things to see and do in Russell and the Bay of Islands.

The Lodge is beautiful with a relaxing communal lounge area and a huge deck with an amazing view of the bay. It's also a short 5min walk from the town. One lazy afternoon we bought some local oysters and enjoyed them on the deck with a lovely bottle of NZ wine from the "honesty bar" - sublime!

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished. We stayed in the Tautoru suite which had its own private entrance and a private deck - highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisele81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What could be nicer? Fabulous view and room, great hospitality and breakfast and easy access to all the delights of Kororāreka/Russell. Hosts David & Brad are great communicators and responded quickly to email requests. They have a great knowledge of local history and happy to advise on local services or places to visit. We were very well looked after on a much-needed trip away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenJG786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed at Arcadia Lodge during 2 extensive trips around NZ during the past 4 years (one of only 2 places where we opted to stay during both visits).
In our experience, it is one of the best B&Bs in the entire country.
The location is superb and everything in Arcadia Lodge is top notch...Te Punga suite is best in class, Brad and David are very gracious hosts, the ambience of their home is outstanding in the B&B world and the breakfasts are so imaginative.
This is certainly a great place to stay for the discerning traveller.

NZ is a charming country, and we stayed in many excellent B&Bs, but Arcadia Lodge was one of the best!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was such a spectacular find for us - both the B&B and the location. The location in the Bay of Islands is magical and stunningly beautiful. Having visited and considered Russell and Paihia we were so glad we chose Russell. It is quiet and quaint and beautiful. Boat tours (why you are here) go from the dock in the town and your hosts are very happy to arrange this for you. The Lodge is set a bit up hill and slightly away from "downtown" Russell (which is only two blocks in size) but only a ten minute walk. The views from the lodge are actually of a neighbouring bay and not the town bay where the pier is. It is equally if not more beautiful though. Russell is very small and everything is right there. The daily grind was incredible breakfast on the deck overlooking the water, explore the incredible natural beauty for the day, then wine on the deck, then stroll into the town (10 min) for dinner at one of a very few but very good restaurants, then back for a very comfortable and very quiet sleep. Do not miss Gables restaurant and Duke of Marlborough is a close second. Both are harbour front and fantastic gourmet food. Most of the lodge rooms have views of the bay but ours did not (Ranginui). It was a bit less expensive and we were very happy as it had a beautiful view of garden and a nearby grassy hill and was very comfortable with a king bed. The other rooms looked beautiful as well - all with views of the bay and some with private deck areas (some contiguous with the communal deck but around a corner). The bathroom in the Ranginui room is unique as it is divided into two spaces and quite small but still functional and uses the space well. We used the large communal deck and living room area. This is the nicest place to be in the whole place anyways and we enjoyed meeting and chatting the hosts, David and Brad, and the other guests. Breakfast was different every day and included freshly made savoury hot breakfast after yogurt/fruit/granola/coffee/tea/juice. Really nicely done guys! We ended up booking an extra night as we loved it here so stayed 3 nights which was perfect. Local tip - don't miss walking up and behind the Lodge, over the hill and down to an incredible and large swimming beach. It is 10 minutes away and really beautiful. I think a lot of people miss this and it shouldn't be missed!

Room Tip: Any would be great, even the one with "no view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the Arcadia Lodge at the beginning of April 2014. The Tautoru suite was a wonderful and very aesthetic room with a private patio. David and Brad make sure that the guests are warmly welcome, but also have their own privacy. The level of detail David and Brad achieve (with respect to the food and the room) is amazing. The food is organic and very delicious. During our trip to New Zealand we stayed at various B&Bs, but the Arcadia Lodge was our favorite.

C and N

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cschwarz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Thank you, Brad and David, for your hospitality during our stay. We had such a lovely time in your beautiful home and quaint little town. I have been raving to everyone I know about Arcadia Lodge. Firstly, for the stunning view that greeted us from our bedroom window each morning. We fell in love with your beautiful home which was in immaculate condition, not to mention every piece of furniture that created such a homey and cosy atmosphere. Your amazing home made cereal which I absolutely loved and had 2 helpings of each morning plus fruit salad plus toast and homemade jam and on top of the delicious hot breakfast that you both whipped up each morning! Your ricotta hotcakes with strawberries and bananas were to die for. It was such a wonderful experience and swimming with the dolphins topped it off for us. Thank you for being a part of it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyylau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#2 of 20 in Paihia
525 reviews
2.4 mi away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Property: Arcadia Lodge
Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arcadia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing