We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Arcadia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcadia Lodge
Ranked #1 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

An elegant place to stay which made rainy days okay given the accommodation was so lovely. Plenty of space to hang out in the house which is exclusively for guests and an AMAZING breakfast with fantastic service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
260
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was the first stop on our tour of the North Island and what a great start. The house is beautifully decorated, with wonderful bay views, spotlessly clean and Brad and David are great hosts who cook delicious breakfasts. They really care that you have a great experience in the Bay of Islands and make sure that you have all the information you need to make your stay perfect. We felt very comfortable and very much at home there and would definitely recommend Arcadia Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201Tara_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Brad & David are absolutely great Hosts. They understand how to make People feel at Home while on the Road. Their House and the Rooms are something really special, this is the result of work done with love. We can absolutely recommend this place! This is Bed & Breakfast at it's best. Benedict & Salome

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benedict_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What really makes this place is the care given by both the hosts - both before and during your visit. Nothing is too much trouble. Bookings and advice for both trips and restaurants are all taken are of. I travel a huge amount and this level of care is very very rare. Highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertmfreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We recently stayed at Arcadia Lodge and had a fabulous time. David and Brad were exceptional hosts, from their incredibly delicious breakfasts each morning to their recommendations for things to see and do in Russell and the Bay of Islands.

The Lodge is beautiful with a relaxing communal lounge area and a huge deck with an amazing view of the bay. It's also a short 5min walk from the town. One lazy afternoon we bought some local oysters and enjoyed them on the deck with a lovely bottle of NZ wine from the "honesty bar" - sublime!

The rooms are spacious, comfortable and beautifully furnished. We stayed in the Tautoru suite which had its own private entrance and a private deck - highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisele81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
176 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What could be nicer? Fabulous view and room, great hospitality and breakfast and easy access to all the delights of Kororāreka/Russell. Hosts David & Brad are great communicators and responded quickly to email requests. They have a great knowledge of local history and happy to advise on local services or places to visit. We were very well looked after on a much-needed trip away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenJG786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We have stayed at Arcadia Lodge during 2 extensive trips around NZ during the past 4 years (one of only 2 places where we opted to stay during both visits).
In our experience, it is one of the best B&Bs in the entire country.
The location is superb and everything in Arcadia Lodge is top notch...Te Punga suite is best in class, Brad and David are very gracious hosts, the ambience of their home is outstanding in the B&B world and the breakfasts are so imaginative.
This is certainly a great place to stay for the discerning traveller.

NZ is a charming country, and we stayed in many excellent B&Bs, but Arcadia Lodge was one of the best!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chalet Romantica
Chalet Romantica
#3 of 20 in Paihia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Property: Arcadia Lodge
Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arcadia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing