We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 minute Walk with Homely Feel”
Review of Motel Russell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel Russell
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 minute Walk with Homely Feel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Motel Russell and its friendly hosts John and Diane exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed this lovely private enclave of sizeable motel rooms (ours a 2 bed family unit) comfortably equipped and offering extras like an inground pool, plunger coffee, free DVD, book and games loan and unlimited advice! A perfect and welcoming place to stay for families or couples, in easy 5 minute walking distance to town and offering the warmth and comfort of home. Thank you! PS The room was even serviced with a 2 night stay - impressive!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnappySammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    33
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
26
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms, friendly staff and great location. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and always willing to help re info, laundry etc. Situated in a lovely setting very quite but close to the town.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank piggin1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed for one night ... the location is great an easy 5 minute walk to the shops and everything to see. The place itself has everything you would need for a longer stay, the kitchen very well equipped and everything was lovely and clean.
The toiletries and tea and coffee were all good quality ... and we even had a plunger coffee which was lovely!
Lots of room for a family or couples ... and it was nice and quiet at night time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alsden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Friendly staff, good location just a few minutes walk from centre of Russell. Extremely clean and serviced daily. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent value for money. We recommend as a base for visiting Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Perfect spot for our five night stay in Russell. Amazing value for money and the staff were wonderful. Missing keys "no problem" clothes washing facilities free . I'm OCD over cleanliness and I felt very comfortable. We will return. Thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Motel Russell offers great value for money in a very central location. The apartment unit was simple and clean, a great size and had everything we needed. Compared to other options in Russell this seemed to be very good value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReadingHolidaywanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Browsed the web for a good place for an overnight stay in russell, so happy to find this cozy motel. We ended up being upgraded to a bigger room by the friendly john. Amenities in the room was complete. Beddings and pillows was more than needed which was a good thing. Even had free roasted coffee for the french press. Coming back here for sure.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank krister b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
30 reviews
0.4 mi away
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Russell

Property: Motel Russell
Address: 16 Matauwhi Bay Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Russell
#4 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Russell 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Russell is located an easy five minute walk to the Russell Wharf and two minutes to the Russell Boat Club. Motel Russell has a range of accommodation to suit everyones needs, Queen Studios, King Studios, Twin Studio with Kitchen, One Bedroom Apartments that sleep up to five, Two Bedroom Cottage great for two couples, or the Two Bedroom Family units that sleep up to eight. The pool is lovely and there is plenty of room on the barbeque to sizzle up what you like. Wake up to Subtopical gardens and birdsong. Book tours, cruises and local activities at reception, management aims to please. Low weekly rates offered in the slow season afford an excellent long stay option for those seeking a quiet getaway from it all experience.MOTEL RUSSELL IS A SMOKE FREE MOTEL.SMOKING IS NOT PERMITTED ANYWHERE ON MOTEL GROUNDS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Russell New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing