We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for Sport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swordfish Club Bistro

Swordfish Club Bistro
Ranked #9 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, New Zealand, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good for Sport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We needed good food and live rugby coverage and got both. The barman was friendly the prices if the drinks and food really good value and the venue great. Lots of fishing memorabilia on the walls. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank swampykevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    31
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing seafood platter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We came here for dinner on the recommendation of some guests we met at the B&B we were staying at. They told us they had the seafood platter twice in one day...and we understood why once we tried it! It's amazingly value, fresh, delicious and there aren't any tourists! If you arrive early enough, you'll also have a fantastic view of the Bay. Go now!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gisele81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place is upstairs from an Indian restaurant and when you go in looks like an RSL

But the food, fish of course, was really good, and the setting with gorgeous views over the Bay of Islands more than complemented the food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just so relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

so nice to be able to go our and not have to feel underdressed while eating out. Bar guy was great. atmosphere was just perfect, not rushed to hurry up and we were able to have our drinks and meal on the deck and relax and watch the world go by. Would return for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lorrainechris43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome taxidermy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Great character and not too expensive. Some amazing fish in there. An order at the counter place. Could use some craft beers instead of Monteiths. Typical pub food but not spendy so can't complain. They are missing an opportunity to have a higher end place, but Russell doesn't need more high end places. Folks were nice enough, and it has an awesome view. So, recommended for an inexpensive dinner in Russell that has more character than a fish and chips place.But not for a romantic dinner, unless you are marlin fanatics.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_fishguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swordfish Club Bistro also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Swordfish Club Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing