We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite B&B Lodge in Historic Russell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Ranked #4 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exquisite B&B Lodge in Historic Russell”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Immaculately presented lodge hosted by owners Jessie and Ruth. Breakfast is cooked to order by Ruth - her hollandaise is just the best! Homemade bread, fresh and tasty - everything was brilliant.
Jessie and Ruth are wonderful hosts who have a great knowledge of the local area, will assist with any dinner reservations or other activities and enjoy a wine and canapés before dinner.
The Day Spa and twin outdoor baths are a treat we look forward to enjoying next time.
Enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: The Strand room has a nice corner view. All 4 rooms are individually decorated so choose the one you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
141
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vanves, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have completed three weeks of discovery of New Zealand by three days here. Hosting Jessie & Ruth was great: tips to visit Russell and surroundings, attentions to our arrival, delicious breakfast, friendly wine tasting evening ...
We loved it and recommend to all Flagstaff Lodge! We only regret that it happened so fast.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights and were disappointed that we didn't book for more! Aside from Russell being a magical little coastal township, Flagstaff Lodge and Jessie & Ruth added the cream :) Awesome location and the girls know how to host! 630pm wine tasting and wake to the best eggs benny this side of the South Pacific Ocean :) Already looking forward to a return visit!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this charming house with perfect hosts. The day started with a rich breakfast and helpful advice what to do. At afternoon we were together tasting different wines - what a nice idea. The lodge is located in a quiet area, nevertheless close to Restaurants and other facilities. Many thanks Jessie and Ruth for your great hospitality. It was a wonderful start of our two months in NZ.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommendable; we stayed in the Corner room which seems to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Took my tired husband here for his birthday, what a lovely place.
Perfect location, fantastic hosts, lovely places to eat.
Breakfast was lovely. We loved the soak in the outside baths under a moonlight night, candles & wine, what more can you want. Thank you Jessie & Ruth.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Strand super king room, lovely views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Jessie and Ruth assisted me in giving my partner the most amazing surprise birthday weekend. The activities ranged from lovely treatments in their spa, to tasting the local wine and food, to viewing the Bay of Isalnds from the sea and air. It was wonderful. The Flagstaff itself was beautiful, and we felt at home straight away. Every last detail was perfect. What I especially liked was the warmth and complete service focus of our hosts! We will definately be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

really perfect location in the heart of Russel, Jessie & Ruth did everything to make our staying comfortable, with a real attention to detail. A lot of amenities, conveniences, pleasantness. Lots of help. really no critical notes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa

Property: Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Address: 17 Wellington Street | corner of Wellington and Queen Streets, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flagstaff Lodge is a fully modernised 1912 villa providing luxury boutique accommodation in the heart of charming Russell. Featuring contemporary style, NZ art, local wine & delicious food with relaxed, personal attention from your hosts. The lodge offers four spacious en-suite rooms and a guest lounge – each uniquely styled – a relaxing courtyard and a boutique day spa offering massage and beauty treatments using premium Thalgo and OPI products. Just a 1 minute stroll from the seafront, the lodge is the perfect luxury base from which to enjoy Russell and the Bay of Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing