We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay of Islands Cottages
Nearby Hotels
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore's Lodge(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Duke of Marlborough Hotel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$463
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triton Lodge(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
38
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjenny and peterhome madehomemade biscuitsbreakfast tableother guestslovely hostsnew zealandbayhillsidedeckviews
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed 3 nights there. Nothing to complain. Breakfast was outstandingly good. Peter and Jenny are exceptionally friendly hosts. The cottage was immaculate and spacey. We would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pb o o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

What a quiet wonderful cottage in an beautiful environment! We very much enjoyed our two nights here! Peter and Marion are wonderful hosts, making the best breakfast in New Zealand we ever had. They even took care of my lactose-free diet, baking everything freshly with lactose-free milk! We enjoyed the talks with you and the other guests during breakfast. We loved everything at your place, everything was just perfect and fits perfectly together! We will come back for sure, hopefully in February next year. We send you our best wishes. Thank you once again for great hospitality!

Kirsten & Mike, Germany

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Away from the madding crowd (not that it was crowded at the end of March) Peter and Jenny have a clutch (3?) cabins built on the hillside around their main home. Nicely furnished with water views from the deck, the accommodation provides a sense of isolation and independence. Unfortunately we did not take advantage of the beach access. A short drive to the lovely Russell is no inconvenience.

We would certainly recommend BoIC and the Russell area. Avoid Paihia, which seems to be the conventional resting point for BoI access.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xk140fhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bay of Islands Cottages for two nights. If our schedule had permitted we would have loved to stay longer.
The cottage was very clean and spacious, with a nice balcony with a view across the water. I had my best nights sleep of our trip here due to the comfortable bed and quiet location.
Jenny and Peter are wonderful hosts and the breakfasts were just amazing. I particularly loved the communal breakfast table which was such a lovely start to the day.
We really enjoyed the complementary use of the kayaks too. My husband is keen on fishing and Peter kindly lent us his fishing rods.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JemimaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We selected Bay of Islands Cottages after reading the reviews. We would agree with all the comments made, clean, comfortable, good hosts, fantastic breakfasts,

Just a couple of observations to add.

The bush location does mean what is says, the mosquitoes are voracious at dusk, so no sitting on the veranda in the evening.
The view from the studio apartment attached to the house is largely blocked by a big tree.
The bay is tidal and the area is mudflats with an oyster farm highly visible at low tide.
Cooking facilites consist of two rings and minimal equipment.

That said, it is a great short stay B&B and we would use it again. Jenny and Peter are great hosts and we often spent most of the morning over breakfast. Jenny was very helpful in suggesting days out and Peter provided internet access when we needed it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bobgGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews