We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Accommodation”
Review of Russell Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Russell Cottages
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Whangarei, Northland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Family Accommodation”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

These cottages have everything you need for family accommodation.
Very nicely appointed, modern cottages, with excellent bathrooms and kitchen, nice swimming pool area, spa and small lounge, play area for kids. Perfect location in the heart of Russell, and at the winter prices that we paid, an absolute bargain.
Also now offers free wi-fi, which wasn't the case last time I stayed, so my one minor quibble from previous visits was resolved !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANDYCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    41
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
75
89
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Located in Chapel Street, the cottages are well located, just a few minutes walking distance to the waterfront. Each stand-alone cottage is fully self contained, well appointed with excellent facilities. The cottage features a separate dining and lounge area with a gas-fired heater, just the thing after a chilly day sightseeing. The french doors from the lounge opened onto a private rear garden with an outdoor setting to enjoy the birds. The resort also features a heated swimming pool and spa with BBQ area. The cottages are an easy walk to the waterfront to take a water taxi across the bay.

Room Tip: Each cottage is well equipped and there is no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathieg22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

These modern cottages are brilliant. We stayed in the 3 bedroom. , so bedrooms upstairs (one with ensuite). Downstairs, very modern kitchen(with dishwasher), lovely sofas, dining table, french doors flowing out onto deck with small private rear garden (good size for our kids to play in). Also has a Laundry area in the cottage with W/,achine and dryer. 3 toilets in the cottage.
Also, there is a Shared Area, with beautiful pool, spa, BBQs, and Pool room and changing rms.
Also small childrens playground. This is an awesome setup, I highly recommend. This is topend accomodation. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
and only 3 or 4 mins walk from Russell waterfront, shops and restaurants

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Cottage prewarmed for us with heater, then we got the gas log fire on- splendid! Kept the whole cottage nice and cosy.
High quality decor, linens, fixtures and fittings. The cottages are very pretty, decorated with stye and well equipped. Everything was clean and fresh.
A short walk to the lovely village of Russell with handy shops and ovely scenery.
Would definately stay again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank vmcalister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a lovely complex of cottages - a village within a village. The cottages are very well equipped and fairly spacious and extremely comfortable. The location just 200 metres from the town centre is fantastic.

Areas for improvement include:
1) internet access - WiFi but you need to pay and the cost adds up very quickly as purchased access seemed to run out quicker than normal and you are not able to buy additional access when the office is closed.

2) room servicing - very basic - the bed gets made and that's about it. No basic cleaning and no equipment to do your own cleaning - eg kitchen floor need a sweep by about day 3 - they didn't do it and nor could we!

3) heating -(this was a general issue we found in hotels and public places in NZ) - the apartment had a lovely gas log fire in the main area but no heating elsewhere so bed room was very cold (beds did have electric blankets but you really needed something to heat up the room and bathroom)

Despite these areas for improvement we would definitely stay there again but would just make sure we negotiated resolution of these concerns before we got there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cimocounselling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Cottages. The units are gorgeous, huge space, nice bedrooms, living room, gas fireplace. We had an issue with the cleaning though - when we arrived the dishwasher was full of dirty dishes and smelled like something was dead inside for a month or so. Towels were not changed - not even those left in the bathtub. Everything else was clean and overall we were happy during our stay We didn't touch the dishwasher or anything inside - we used whatever dishes were available in the cupboard and washed them by hand.

A separate issue - WiFi. We booked through hotels.com and there was mentioned 'free WiFi". There's no such thing as free WiFi at Russell Cottages - we raised this with reception and we were reluctantly given a $10 voucher valid 7 days for 100MB of data (pathetic by any standards and extremely expensive). This would have been fine if it would have worked for more than two emails - it expired after less than 30 mins of NO activity (far less than the 100MB, maybe 1 or 2MB at the very best) so if you end up buying these access vouchers make sure you get what you pay for. There's an Internet cafe within walking distance though.

A word of warning - this is a NZ property. This means the bedrooms are COLD in winter (Apr to Sept) and the only heating provided is in the form of electric blankets. This makes the bed cozy, but the rest of the bedroom stays at a crispy 13-14 deg Celsius (some 56 deg Fahrenheit).The local kiwis are generally happy with this, however if you visit from some other more civilized country where you prefer your bedroom at a more normal 18-20 deg Celsius you better come in summer as there's no way you can warm up the bedrooms.

Room Tip: Great choice, but be careful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BravoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Booked a 3 bedroom cottage for our family (7 in total) for 3 nights in May. Large living area with quality furniture and kitchen was very well equipped.Rooms very were comfortable and good quality linen are used. Very good location - close to the main street in Russell. Our cottage was serviced every day and did find service from Reception was very good (and friendly). Kids loved the pool (heated to about 30 degrees) and the adults enjoyed the spa pool!
All and all an excellent stay - If you want to take out-of-towners to a special place try Rusell Cottages!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doepie277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Cottages

Property: Russell Cottages
Address: 16 Chapel Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Family Hotel in Russell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Russell Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from traditional timber weather board, the three and four bedroom cottages have solid timber floors, raked timber ceilings and are fully appointed to a very high standard. Sold as 1 & 2 bedroom cottages as well as 3 & 4 bedroom, Russell Cottages has accommodation to suit all, from couples and honeymooners to families and groups, up to 8 can sleep in one cottage. Space to work, to entertain, to relax, and to host family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Russell Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Cottages Hotel Russell
Russell Cottages New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing