We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home away from homw”
Review of Russell Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Russell Cottages
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2008

We booked Russell Cottage through one of the last minute websites and got a very good deal. It's often hit and miss when you book hotels on these websites but I can honestly say this was one of the best places we have stayed anywhere in the world.

The cottages were beautifully decorated and furnished, extremely spacious... in fact larger than our house at home! The full kitchen and laundry facilities were very welcome after we had spent a week or so roughing it around NZ, and of course the big bath for long soaks.

We stayed at the cottages in winter time and unfortunately it rained the two days we were there, but we enjoyed the gas fire and warmth of the cottage and had a very relaxing time.

The managers were very friendly and we would definitely go back, but next time with a group of family and friends as it is the perfect place to stay with a group as the cottages are just like a small house.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank buzzybee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2008

These individual twin-level cottages are your home away from home. Thoughtfully designed and well presented, they offer every amenity.

Our three-bedroom cottage had an en-suite off the main bedroom, a second full bathroom and a separate WC downstairs. With full equipped kitchen and laundry, you could stay here quite comfortably for months.

Our cottage was directly behind the pool pavilion, which offered two gas barbeques and all requisite cooking utensils, condiments and even party plates and the like.

The fundamentals were right on... comfortable beds, quality linen, loads of towels and good housekeeping practices.

This is not a hotel however, and the activity around the pool quickly dies after dark. Restaurants and a pub are a very short walk from the accomodation.

Overall though, I recommend this establishment, especially if you are considering whether you should stay in Paihia or Russell. My advice is to choose Russell and the Russell Cottages.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank aussiepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

Beautiful home from home in the middle of Russell, newly fitted out luxury home ideal for a couple or a family - if you don't need all the rooms they simply lock them up and charge you less. We were very impressed with the facilities, the space downstairs and the well equipped kitchen.
The downsides? - the master bedroom was a little on the small side for a property of this size and you have to be careful not to bump your head on the eaves getting into bed on one side. The fridge is full of mini bar stuff - handy if you need it no doubt, but over-priced and takes up a lot of room that you need if you are staying for more than a couple of days. Beware internet costs, its a flat rate for the first 10mb then climbs steeply - spend too long on it and you will find your 'reasonable' bill not so reasonable. And the same applies if using the telephone, even with a telephone card, you still get charged a high rate per minute, even for local calls. That aside, these things are all avoidable as they are in any luxury hotel, enjoy Russell Cottages for the location and amenities, particularly great if you have a family to accommodate.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank IndigoViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

This place was absolutely perfect stay for our Honeymoon! We wanted to run our own show, in terms of doing our own cooking and coming and going as we pleased....and Russell cottages was great for that! Also, they cleaned our cottage while we were out exploring Russell every day, which was a lovely surprise!

The Manager used to work for Marriott hotels though, so beware of the 'mini-bar' things and internet/ telephone charges! We bought a calling card while we were there, and we still got charged about $25 for using the phone. The hot-tub was really quite tepid...so when we hopped in, we jumped back out and ran back to our cottage to get in the warm shower instead!

Other points of interest about the place was that it was a very easy distance to the ferry pier....(we rolled/ walked our luggage to the ferry boat in about 7 minutes). There is an internet cafe in town, at the post office....which is really the best way to get online there. The cottages are also quite close to the little trail to Long beach, which takes about 15 min. walk. It's a great place for pictures

Basically, Russell Cottages provide a very clean, hotel-like environment in which to stay, while having the privacy & self-service of cottages. The bathrooms have showers only, by the way....so don't expect to be able to have a hot bath or anything!

Hope this was helpful! We had a great time, but didn't want to sugar-coat it for people who wanted the straight story!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LadyOSully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bifi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont au calme donc aucun problème de choix
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mayshane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank laebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
290 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
2.4 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Commodore's Lodge
Commodore's Lodge
#6 of 8 in Russell
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Cottages

Address: 16 Chapel Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#3 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range: £110 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Russell Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built from traditional timber weather board, the three and four bedroom cottages have solid timber floors, raked timber ceilings and are fully appointed to a very high standard. Sold as 1 & 2 bedroom cottages as well as 3 & 4 bedroom, Russell Cottages has accommodation to suit all, from couples and honeymooners to families and groups, up to 8 can sleep in one cottage. Space to work, to entertain, to relax, and to host family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Russell Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Cottages Hotel Russell
Russell Cottages New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing