We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and a great host”

Omata Estate Vineyard
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: US$10 - US$18
Cuisines: Wine Bar, New Zealand, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated on a North facing peninsula amongst the idyllic surroundings of the Bay Of Islands, Omata Estate Vineyard boasts a beautiful sea view that can be taken in whilst enjoying one of our award winning wines and indulging in our delicious gourmet platter lunches. The vineyard lies in the perfect setting for growing lusciously ripe grapes - the long and hot sub tropical season housing an exceptional environment for the vines to flourish. Friendly, accomodating staff in a happy, relaxed atmosphere are here to make your stay in the Bay Of Islands a pleasurable and memorable experience.
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amazing and a great host”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were greeted by Lorna, who was hilarious, very personable, and educated us about wines we had not tasted before. Te Deux Blanc was divine and we had to share a bottle after (sorry) during the tasting! The platter of cheese and local meats and olives was scrumptious. The setting, overlooking the bay, was stunning. Not a bad place to spend a few hours on a sunny afternoon. Lorna, our hostess was outstanding. Would definitely recommend a visit here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aidomelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    20
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning views, excellent vineyard wine tasting plus platter”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The vineyard is in Russell, 2 kms from the car ferry, and definaetly worth visiting. Set on the hill it overlooks the green trees, the blue sea surrounding the bays and has a timeless feel to it. The wines are interesting. To add to previous reviews by fellow TA's, I particularly enjoyed the Chardonnay, which embodies a "good old fashioned kiwi" Chardonnay - ie full bodied with oodles of taste of fruit and a slight smokey aftertaste. Omata Estate do a port "Port of Russell" which is definately worth buying, it reminds one of the smoother ports that can be found without the grainy texture than many older ports can develop. Their 2014 port is 9 years old, ie from 2005. Lorna is very cheerful and friendly, their platter (40 NZ$ for 2 people) includes the mandatory local cheeses and various other dips, breads and fish. Wine tasting, which includes 6 tastings is free provided wine is purchased.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourmaline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding at Omata”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stunning venue for a wedding unfortunately Omata Estates manager Bruce made it an unpleasant experience. We booked the venue before he was on board so we didn't really have the option to change when he came along as it was too late. His manner was very unfriendly and rude. He made us feel like it was such an inconvenience to him to have our wedding there. He made the planning of the day very stressful. I would advise anyone who is looking at Omata for their wedding to make sure they meet the manager first before they make their decision.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing find with unforgettable view, outstanding staff, and great wine.”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Anchored by sailboat and walked up a great trail to this amazing find. The view is breath taking, the Deux Blanc has converted even this red lover, and the service, welcoming friendship, provided by Lorna, was outstanding. This place is not visited enough. Go.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian2000k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic view and wines ”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Amazing view. Great wines. Unexpected location and really welcoming hosts. Bought the rose and the Syrah. Great way to spend the afternoon.

Helpful?
Thank Triplovers1151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omata Estate Vineyard also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Omata Estate Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing