We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING!”
Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We would like to Thank you for your service over the last 19 years. We are now happy to advize you that we have SOLD. Sally and her team.
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We last visited Sally's on our trip in May, but it was just for a quick coffee and cake then (which was delicious!)
This time though, we got to dine at Sally's three times.
Visit one was for coffee, and the most decadent lemon meringue pie on the planet, visit three was for breakfast - a lovely feast of bacon and eggs & more coffee, which was delicious and a good price.

But our most special visit, was for our wedding lunch (11.12.13).

Sally and the crew went out of their way to make it thoroughly fabulous.
The table was beautifully laid out, with mirrors, sparkles and flowers - and they had even made us a chocolate wedding cake - complete with rainbow-ribbon surround!!!

The staff continually went out of their way to make sure we were having a lovely time, and our meals were superb, and the prices excellent.

We will be returning to Sally's again as soon as we can, and highly recommend this amazing beachfront eatery to all - whether you're just out for a quick coffee & cake - or you're ready for a gastronomic delight.

10/10 - and special thanks from the bottom of our hearts, for making our special day, that much more so....

Thank WhitbyWimmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words.
It really was a great day.
Good Luck for your years together. Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 447 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have been going to Sally's for years. We have taken all our overseas visitors to Sally's. We go every year to Paihia (at least once) and the first thing we do is phone Sally's and book a table. We were so disappointed this time we asked if there had been a change of ownership? No. Had there been a change of chef? No. The wait staff were well below the usual standard. They were sloppy in both dress and manner. The head waitress was surly and unfriendly after we asked for a table change due to an extremely loud diner at the (very close) next table. We were not the only people to ask to be moved and we all felt the waitress should have spoken to the diner. It seemed he was a local so maybe they would rather upset casual visitors than him.
We won't be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theboots_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention.I am so sorry, I had a few nights off before Christmas. I am starting back tonight. Could you please phone me my Home phone number is 094037135 my Restaurant 094037652 mobile 0276527723.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The service was very friendly and attentive and helpful. The food servings were large, reasonably priced and since it was the only place we ate during our short ferry visit there, we can't compare. the food was tasty enough and fairly simple, so a bit better than average for a tourist spot dining experience at lunchtime

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TuartHillTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Went here because The Warf was not providing any decent service. And this place was completely opposite: friendly waitress, quick service and good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kohlmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very disappointing lunch and definitely not worth what we paid. For a $12.50 open sandwich you would expect more than just two plain slices of bread, no butter, a couple of small slivers of ham, a squirt of mustard and a small serving of prepackaged salad. Expected a lot more with the number of customers in there - am I missing something?? Side of chips had to be chased up as they had forgotten, and they were far from busy considering it's order and pay at the counter before you even sit down. Very strange setup indeed! Recommend to go elsewhere.

Thank MelbourneSwannies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sk1pro, Owner at sally's restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your visit to us. I was at work at 8.30 cooking the bread. As we make everything to order there is no prepagaged anything ever. I walked back in just as you called our waitress over to tell her they can forgotten your bowl of chips. Micheal had forgotten to cook them. The waitress apologised to you and the problem was addressed. Yes you do have to pay for meals when you order as we have outside seating and a few people walk off without paying which is becoming an increasing problem with alot of restaurants these days. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Russell. Thank you for coming to Sally's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing