We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious meal with 5* views”
Review of sally's restaurant

sally's restaurant
Ranked #4 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious meal with 5* views”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped by Sally's for lunch and found a table outside looking to the harbour. With no menu's we took turns to look at the blackboard menu inside, we had to order there anyway.

We ordered fish and chips - tasty fish but the chips were a bit undercooked, and the calamari with salad - this was way better that I expected, full of flavour and not at all greasy.

Being a holiday weekend, they were pretty busy but the meals came out in lighting speed, even the mix up with table numbers and orders was dealt with quickly and with no fuss or bother, but with the right amount of recovery (it really was no big deal so not too over the top).

My ice chocolate was... okay but nothing remarkable, I'd probably go for something else next time.

We didn't end up sampling the homemade baked goods but boy did they look tempting.

Overall, a very pleasant lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhubarb_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    225
    67
    35
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kawakawa, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing and yummy”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stopped for brunch at Sally's after a walk to Russell. People were very friendly, food and drinkes served quickly and breakfast was delicious. Lovely relaxing place to brunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luca_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Good decent home cooking”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The restaurant has a great situation overlooking the bay and wharf in Russell. The food is not fancy but good honest cooking and very much enjoyed by my wife and myself sitting at an outside table watching the boats and ferries come and go. We ate twice here having enjoyed the food so much the first time. If the sun is shining try to get an outside table right by the edge of the beach and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geordie9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor over-priced food”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Seafood over-cooked, on a bland pasta, and over-priced. The fish and chips - contained fresh snapper, but in a heavy over-cooked batter. Could get better at our local chippy for 1/5 the price. All meals came with chips from a bag. For these prices I'd expect hand-made chips. Waitress got the wine wrong - if it was this alone I wouldn't have minded, but easily the worst value meal I've eaten in NZ. We should have eaten at the Swordfish Club upstairs as planned.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glass3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Something new for me”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

When I ordered the pan fried scallops, i had no idea they'd be served with their roe. It was a first for me, and I loved it. Everything we ordered was great, including the raw oysters and seafood chowder. The service was quick, friendly and attentive. The interior of the restaurant is lovely.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KayatLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed sally's restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to sally's restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing