We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room and awesome people...”
Review of Commodore's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We stayed two nights at the Commodore in a two bedroom unit with another couple for a friends wedding. The Commodore's location is perfect, right on the beach, walking distance to explore Russell being just 20 metres to the wharf. The unit was very tidy, with modern furniture including kitchenette, flat screen tv and nice bathroom. Facilities include pool, spa, bikes and kayaks. One of the highlights was the owners who were incredibly helpful, giving tips for things to do, directions for a good run and places to kayak.

Great value, will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank FordyAuckland_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 94 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2008

We love Russel... We've been there twice, in May 2006, and Apr 2007. Both stays were in the Commodore's Lodge which is perfectly tugged away at the water-side.

The motel is clean, has a really nice atmosphere, and is affordable. The setup and the pool is nice as well. Free bicycles and canoe's available as well.

But best of all: "It's in Russel". The best location if you want to be in the Bay of Islands. Especially if you want to sail the islands. And most important, want to enjoy a relaxed atmosphere all together.

Russel itself is really peaceful and not as busy as the other side of the water (Opua and Waitangi). But still near to beatuifull islands, and sceneries.

We're planning to go more time to go to New Zealand, and the Russel/Commodor's will always be one that will always be on the list to do.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch_Says
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2007

Cannot speak too highly of the Commodores Lodge and of our hosts Gill and Russ Cryer. We had booked in to stay 3 nights but our flight from Auckland to Bay of Islands was canceled because of appalling weather,. We took the option of a 5 hour bus journey but that meant we could not get to Russell that night . Phoned Gill at Commodores Lodge who offered to book us into accommodation in Kerikeri to save us being stranded which meant we had a warm welcoming room to get out of the rain into.
We arrived in Russell the following day and Commodores Lodge is in a great location only a few yards from the pier so no trouble pulling our big suitcases there. Our chosen room opened onto a well constructed deck with excellent loungers, table and sun umbrella and the pool. The accommodation is modern with quality finishings - and very comfortable. We really enjoyed staying there as Russell itself is very pretty and has lots of interesting features and of course offers loads to do on the water (the dolphin watching was a real success). Given New Zealand's relatively young modern history it is also a historic place and the little local museum is excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer ( especially as the weather dramatically improved) and we would certainly stay at Commodores Lodge again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2007

Have just returned from spending 2 great nights at the Commodores Lodge. This motel accommodation in romantic Russell, had everything you needed. Make sure you ask for a waterfront unit @ $190au per night. Fully self contained including cooking facilities.Unit comprises of kingsize bed (comfortable), cosy linen and contempory decor (recently refurbished). Outside deck with table and comfortable chairs, for kicking back with a wine & a beer watching the sunset. Sky televison and in-house video are also available in rooms. Guests have free use of bikes,kayaks and a dinghy, there is also a very nice pool and bbq area.

There are plenty of restaurants to choose from, all just a few steps away. In saying this there was little or no noise as you might expect being so close to the activities. All in all a lovely two nights and days were had in Russell. The only fault I could find with the Commodores Lodge was the shower floor tiles had been laid in a way that the flow of water did allow for a good runoff, encountered water on the floor after shower could result in an accident if you slipped on the floor as I nearly did.! Execellent value for money.

3  Thank bgvnager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uxue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
290 reviews
2.1 mi away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore's Lodge

Address: The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range: £82 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commodore's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Russell
Commodore's Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing