We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterfront Cafe

Waterfront Cafe
Ranked #6 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, View
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Licensed cafe right on the waterfront at Russell, Bay of Islands. Sheltered courtyard at rear when the wind is off the water. Great breakfasts and superb Atomic coffee, new exciting lunch options as well. Plenty of gluten free options available. Come and enjoy the view with a cold beer or glass of wine. WiFi available.
Tallebudgera, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfectly located”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Cappuccino was perfectly presented and absolutely delicious....one of the best I have ever had. Seated at a small table under the shady trees on the waterfront made it a perfect morning setting on a sunny day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PRJ2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    87
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“On the water”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is also a nice place to eat breakfast or lunch. They have a courtyard out the back to sit in if it is to windy on the beach. only thing i didnt like was the tables are seated on the road. cars travel very close to the diners. Also the seagulls were a problem, but ion a good clear day this is the place to sit and have a coffee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 639Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Bay of Islands New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Atomic coffee and good range of casual meals available”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Am a regular customer and can confirm high standard of coffees and great cafe food. All the standards , nachos, pancakes,all day brekkies etc and home made pies.
Cabinet food a bit nondescript.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russellite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Pancakes for breakfast”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was the only place open for breakfast, so we decided to give it a go. It was a glorious morning so we chose an outside table right on the waterfront. We each had pancakes with banana and they were very nice with the banana actually cooked into the pancakes rather than served on them. The serving size was generous. The coffee was good as well and the staff bright and cheerful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Managed to get a window front table with great views across the water. It was busy and buzzy but the staff were efficient and friendly and we didn't wait very long for our food. I enjoyed my big dish of mussels - shame the chowder had run out. Free Wifi for thirty minutes, what more could you want?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iowstevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterfront Cafe also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Waterfront Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing