We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable”
Review of Apple Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Affordable”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Not a bad place. This is one of the few places that hasn't felt the need to have a big flash tv and everything modern in the rooms. Instead, you're greeted by a comfortable useable room at a low price - great for the budget. I didn't try the pool but it looked nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rendezvousnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    15
    11
    21
See reviews for
19
21
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Booked this place for a business trip op hastings, found that the place is acceptable for afffordable accommodation, and the owner/reception people are helpful and friendly.

I do not agree with some of the reviewers that say that "avoid at all costs", you get what you pay for.

and the motel does not claim to be a 5-star accommodation in the first place.

So folks, if you are looking for good budget accommodation, this place fits the bill, if you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, obviously, look somewhere else.

my only complaint is that they do not accept american express

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin11967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

We've stayed in quite a few Kiwi motels and this was our worst ever experience. Basic we can live with but our suite was dilapidated, dirty and squalid. The toilet had clearly leaked at some point and absolutely stank and the bathroom was grimy. The kitchen was grubby and the ancient fridge had also leaked and there was a grisly brown stain extending across the carpet. The kitchen had the barest minimum of equipment, a battered old pan or two, some odd knives and forks and a couple of mismatched mugs and plates. All academic really as one wouldn't have wanted to prepare food in the place. The furniture was ancient and sagging, the mattresses were so thin you could feel every bed spring through them, the quilts were grimy and torn and the pillows so stained and flat that we resorted to folding up clothes to sleep on. Many of the guests appeared to be long term residents and pretty rough at that. The dvd player didn't work and there were squashed bugs on the walls. To be fair I think we were in one of the oldest apartments but that doesn't excuse it being dirty, smelly and ill-equipped. From the reviews, it seems others have had the same experience and they really shouldn't be letting out rooms in this state at all. There were a few positives. The outside area was clean and quite well maintained, proprietors and staff were friendly and one of the kids announced "This is the worst place I have ever stayed in my whole life. In fact, it's so bad, it's almost cool!" They may have refurbed by now but my advice would be, If you're planning to drop by at the Apple, then make sure you check out the room before you confirm your booking.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pmt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Brisbane Queensland Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We initially booked for one night but stayed an extra 2 and drove into Napier instead of staying there. This hotel is definitely budget, very clean, very quiet, has all the facilities you need and very helpful people on the front desk. It is situated close to town and the I Sight which is the information centre who by the way were also very helpful. Would definitely recommend and would stay again if in the area

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottegeoffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Apple Motor Inn is to be AVOIDED at all costs. The Studio room was dingy, dirty and smelly. Our toilet was leaking around the base and having only one sink we needed to use the bathroom for our dishes. The fire alarm went off at 5am which apparently is very common but the noise coming from the dormitory, which is let out to imported workers, was always noisy. washing was everywhere around the building. Also the van arrives very early to collect the workers . The rubbish bins downstairs were overflowing and smelt awful. Our rooms were not serviced and to top all this off we were charged $220 per night for this room. We felt absolutely ripped off.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allie051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paeroa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

The first room we had allocated wasn't made up and we were moved. The second room wasn't clean e.g floor not vacuumed properly, windows had children's figure prints all over them, filter in bathroom ceiling dirty, fridge freezer iced up, tripadvisor review pamphlet dirty, skywatch magazine ripped,wall damaged behind bed, dirty marks on wall behind luggage shelf, pictures on wall crooked. The hall leading to room needed vacuuming and the pool looked dirty. On the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livyray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Late on Boxing Day we decided to take a random road trip to the Hawkes Bay. We frequently do this! We had no accom booking, and as we approached Hastings we started to worry about finding somewhere for all 5 of us. We spotted the Motel signage & pulled in. Carole greeted us warmly and we were pretty much sold on a unit then and there! When Carole advised us on the price, that just sealed the deal! As a family we usually camp in tents as the cost of accom can be really expensive for 5 of us, but the Apple Motor Inn was very affordable. Over the past few years we have stayed in many budget motels, but when we travel to Hawkes Bay again, there will be no doubt where we will stay! We loved it there! The service was fantastic. The unit was clean & modern. Most parents can understand the mission of getting children to sleep when they are away from their own beds, but our children had no problems as the complex was very peaceful despite the amount of people staying. The pool was well used & enjoyed also. Management allowed us to check in early so we could drop off our luggage. When it was time to leave, Lucy, one of the cleaners bade us farewell, and completed the wonderful service we had received. We all loved our experience there and would not hesitate to recommend the Apple Motor-Inn to our family & friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuismanFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.2 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
89 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
1.3 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clansman Motor Lodge
Clansman Motor Lodge
#10 of 18 in Hastings
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
63 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omahu Motor Lodge
Omahu Motor Lodge
#11 of 18 in Hastings
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Motor Inn

Property: Apple Motor Inn
Address: 409 Railway Road | Raureka, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accommodation only 290 metres from the centre of town. Friendly staff invite you to enjoy our all weather barbecue area, spa and swimming pool. Relax and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apple Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing