We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Booking”
Review of Apple Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apple Motor Inn
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last Minute Booking”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After Been on the road for almost 3 weeks for work, I arrived in Hastings and could not work out where I was supposed to be staying, and as it turned out it was my one oversight for the 3 weeks, so Jumped online and found Apple Motor Inn. Online it looked really good, so I called them up, and was told there were rooms available for $99 a night.

Arrived and in the poring rain I thought the first shelter area was where the reception was, but the building was dark, so looked around and saw a sign saying reception up ahead. The host was friendly, and offered me a paper, and internet.

It was a bit of a hike to the room, the room seemed clean and tidy, the shower was interesting to say the least, with a step up to a platform, then a step down into the shower. Shower was useless, literally just a dribble.

Bed was comfortable, and TV was a good size and in a good position, with a decent amount of channels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E4g1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    15
    11
    21
See reviews for
19
21
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We had a ground floor unit which had the bare essentials but seems to have had no loving care for many years. There is nowhere to hang clothes. But the beds are comfortable, there is a TV and some kitchen facilities. There is a small swimming pool which we didn't use, but it seems OK. The property is used to house Islanders working for the fruit harvest so there were plenty of people around.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viragored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Furniture is well worn. Its tidy but in desprate need of some investment to up date and ensure things like drainage is in working order as shower doesn't drain properly. I know motel prices increase during peek times but there is a point where it just becomes price gouging and results in people feeling absolutely taken advantage of. Considering price is taken as an indication of what quality to expect in this case, compared to the price paid, it was severely lacking even taking into consideration it was a high demand period. This doesn't reflect well on NZ.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Showee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hastings hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

took the family to Splash planet for the weekend and stayed at this motel. it was clean, tidy and friendly staff. I had no complaints or concerns. On site swimming pool was great for the kids and easy walk to town.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Room basically OK. Bed comfortable, quiet fan and fridge, nice crockery and clean surfaces. Let down by a filthy old shower, with little water pressure, no where to put soap or shampoo and dangerous for those with sight difficulties or elderly with two floor levels in and out of shower. Filthy shower curtain. No coat hangers or anywhere comfortable to sit. No extra pillows. Disappointing Motel and expensive for what is on offer.

Room Tip: Upstairs have a tiny balcony and a view over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavinia832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangere, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nothing much to brag about staying here as we were only here for the night. Price of this unit was $120 and for that you got a queen bed and single bed, tv, microwave, toilet and shower!compare this to a 5 star spa resort we had the next night in Taupo we got a whole lot more than this for only an extra $15 a night. The light bulb flickered in the bathroom which made it very dark and dim by the morning the light gave way so we showered in the dark! Space is so tight in this unit so definitely do not recommend for the family traveller. It was ok for us as we were only a couple who needed a bed for the night. There is a swimming pool but just looking at it from our balcony it looked like it hasn't had a good clean in a long time, i could be wrong about this but we didn't bother swimming in it. Rooms have no AC and it was summer so it got quite hot and stuffy however opening the balcony door brought in a good breeze. Staff were friendly, can't comment on service as we didn't need it. We only travelled 5 hours from Auckland to go to Splash Planet so location wise it was handy and quite close to everything. In hastings there is not much to do so the quick stay was perfect for us and like I said this place is really nothing to brag about and we only booked here because it was the cheapest place we could find with 2 rooms available for the same night and close to where we needed to go! Not sure if I would recommend it to anyone but probably wouldn't pay the same price for that room...perhaps $95-$100 is more reasonable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere cheap - but not something below standards. We paid for 2 nights but wish we didn't. The room was just tiny - the bed felt like it was from 100 years ago. Woke up with aching body every morning. I opted for the floor through out the stay to see which one was comfortable. The bathroom was yuck! It felt like a public toilet where you could feel that it was dirty. No shower curtains - the TV was a box that sat on desk & took up most of the room. The tea & coffee looked as though it was there 6 months earlier. Was given milk on arrival tk be told hey theres no fridge in your room. So where do you want me to store the milk? December? Summer? ... hmmm...Asked if their was a communal kitchen only to be shown a communal rubbish place they call a kitchen? That had an oven disgustingly filthy, microwave with stains & food stuck to it for almost a year & just wanted to spew walking into the kitchen. This place is so wore down that you better paying extra $10 to get abit of service. The staff was not friendly & quiet snotty. But who could forget the Pickers that roam around as if it's their home - making you feel quiet unsafe cause all they do is stand around & watch you as you come in & out of the place. Don't stay here! Its not worth your money. Stay away from here if you can!!! Made my first visit to Hastings in December a painful experience!! Worst accommodation ever...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masta8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.3 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clansman Motor Lodge
Clansman Motor Lodge
#10 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#4 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Motor Inn

Property: Apple Motor Inn
Address: 409 Railway Road | Raureka, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apple Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accommodation only 290 metres from the centre of town. Friendly staff invite you to enjoy our all weather barbecue area, spa and swimming pool. Relax and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Apple Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing