We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvan Lodge Motel

Sylvan Lodge Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sylvan Lodge Motel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
A TripAdvisor Member
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed in the family unit with 6 adults and our baby who was 3 months then. The owners of the lodge were very friendly consider I initially told them we would be arriving between 9pm and 10pm. After a few phonecalls to advise them we were running late, we eventually arrived about 10.30pm and were still greeted with a smile - that is great customer service! We stayed in the studio and the two bedroom unit joined which had a welcoming feeling attached to the place. A portacot was made available with blankets for our baby. The location was very convienient and closer to the city for our travels. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone as the price was reasonable for the couple of nights we stayed in. A note to add, we ended up having two more family members join us on our last night at the last minute, and the owners were still able to cater for them. We were really appreciative of their exceptional services.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Great stay,friendly welcome and service throughout.Unit was very clean and well presented.Small playground and games room kept kids entertained while we chilled out.Will gladly return to the Atrium.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank milesaway53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand, north island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

On arriving I was quite worried as there was a lot of seasonal workers around the hotel. The common room was across from the downstairs one bedroom unit we had hired and there was a lot of activity from the seasonal workers with singing, music and guitar playing and talking and glass smashing. We had checked in by the time we heard the glass smashing and were starting to get really worried. But we found a roomy clean unit with a queen bed in the bedroom with a small tv and two single beds in the lounge and a tv and dvd player, 2 x single cane chairs and a tidy kitchen with everything you need.

Bathroom clean etc.

We weren't kept up at night later than ten o'clock with noise so that was a relief.

The Negatives:
The beds were hard and unfortunately we got woken up on a SUNDAY morning at 4.45am with someone upstairs walking around until 6.15 am when we started to hear them snore again! Yes we could hear them snore, the microwave purring going and all the banging etc. The creaking from the floor was so loud every movement was heard.

The Manager never asked if we had a nice stay and didn't seem to be interested. ( I did wait to see if he asked) We have stayed in many hotels and usually if they are clean we don't seem to worry but it was the noise from upstairs of the movements that really got to me. We paid $150.00 for a one night stay for two adults and two children.

I have answered this as true as we have experienced it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kev&trac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumML, Manager at Sylvan Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for your review. There are however some unjust claims made that do need addressing.

The fact that we had seasonal workers staying at the same time as yourself who, as part of their culture are happy to entertain themselves with singing, playing a ukulele (not guitar), and yes they do talk amongst themselves, we fail to see (when these guests’ are monitored not unlike our other guests in regards to behavior and noise control) why this would be a concern? Unless there is an underlying reason which you are not prepared to publish in an open forum.

The “glass smashing” that you refer too was in fact a thermos being dropped onto the ground by a guest who had not long before you checked in. The thermos did disintegrate and sound of breaking glass was experienced as this happened whilst the manager was within earshot.

During your one night stay you may have taken notice that we were fully accommodated at the time with a broad range of guests including couples, small and larger families, and individuals. It is not unreasonable to allow such guests to socialize and for children to play up until our “tone down” time of 10pm where we would expect guests to “tone down” their activities and noise in respect of some of our guests desire to perhaps turn in early.

The beds have previously been described as comfortable with a number of our regulars opting for that particular unit with that bedding arrangement. Perhaps if you are used to a very soft bed then yes it could be described as “hard” but each to their own.

While it is unfortunate that you were awoken during the early hours of SUNDAY morning due to the guest’s activities in the room above your unit, the noises that you experienced may be due to the fact that either you and/or the guests above may have had their windows ajar. This would have allowed such noises to be heard in the peaceful early morning environment.

As I pointed out earlier, this was a busy weekend with ourselves being understaffed at the time due to commitments in respect of the Christchurch Earthquake. As you did not present any problems or concerns to management during or at the conclusion of your stay, we understood you to have had a satisfactory overnight stay. If this was not the case perhaps you are better to consult the motel directly to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

This motel is very dated. We stayed in the two bedroom room. The furniture was very mismatched and dated, The bathroom was very small and was dfiffcult to bath our small children in. The details on the room sugguested that the room would sleep 7 people however the size of the bathroom wouldn't be suitable for a family with small children. The furniture looked like the cheap and nasty flat pack stuff from the warehouse. The kitchen was very small. We stayed here with our two small children and found the fridge very small for the day to day supplies that we required. Overall the motel was clean however it was very over priced! $175 per night. We won't be staying there again or recommending this motel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redfeathered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtriumML, Manager at Sylvan Lodge Motel, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Thank you for your review. There are however some unjust claims made that do need addressing.

While our motel may not be the most modern one available we have a continuing program of updating furnishings and facilities as time and financial constraints allow. To say the furniture was very mismatched and dated perhaps if you would choose to do some research you might find that the majority of furnishings within your unit are still available for retail purchase at various outlets to this date. Some items within your unit had only previously been used during one other guests stay from new.

When guests choose to move (and damage) furniture at will between units then yes it can become mismatched.
We did promptly provide a portacot, high chair, and baby bath as requested all free of charge but it is rare that the baby bath is utilized within the bathroom which has a shower fitted for guest usage.

We thank you for recognizing our prompt response to when your child locks themselves in the bathroom and to be informed that the said child can’t reach the lock (which can’t be prelocked)?.Also that we were required to service your particular unit outside of our normal unit servicing schedule when it presented itself looking like downtown Beirut requiring additional resources to rectify.

Having had many a family small and large accommodated in such units has not proven to be unsatisfactory with many choosing to return annually during the holiday periods. To say the fridge was very small when in fact it is the same size or even bigger than most found in motels throughout NZ, is a bit shortsighted but then a well travelled guest would appreciate this.

In regards to the tariff, when you booked you were offered a cheaper one bedroom unit to comfortably accommodate yourselves however you choose to decline and opt for the larger two bedroom unit. Our tariff of $175.00 per night is in line if not on the cheap side for a similar size unit offering similar facilities in Hastings during the period that you stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.6 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#2 of 20 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Cumberland Court Motel
#9 of 20 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#7 of 20 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 20 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amici Motel
Amici Motel
#5 of 20 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvan Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Lodge Motel

Property: Sylvan Lodge Motel
Address: 902 Sylvan Road, Hastings 4122, New Zealand (Formerly Atrium Motor Lodge)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sylvan Lodge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet residential area adjacent to Splash Planet in Hastings,the Atrium offers affordable accommodation for couples, families, larger social groups and sporting teams. Studio, one and two bedroom self-contained units are available featuring King and Queen beds, full kitchen facilities, Sat TV, DVD, WiFi, as well as access to our swimming/spa pools/sauna and games room. An excellent choice for the discerning traveller, busy corporate, or family wanting to take advantage of our location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sylvan Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing