We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome with a capital W”

Clansman Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clansman Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome with a capital W”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My wife and I recently stayed for 6 comfortable days in this conveniently located and well provided motel and were made extremely welcome by the owners Leigh and Maree who went out of their way to ensure we had everything we might need and Leigh even kindly put our washing through their laundry as we did not have time to do it ourselves.
The motel was sparkling clean and tidy and the staff all reflected the true essence of customer service as displayed by the owners.
Thank you all for making our stay such a pleasant experience

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulliverGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    15
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
16
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Welcoming motel with beautiful english garden like grounds. The hosts bent over backwards to make our stay comfortable. They noticed any special needs or tastes and took care of them. We requested restaurant recommendations and were very happy with the choices given to us. We were here for business. All of our special requests for office help were received with a smile.
I would highly recommend this motel for business or pleasure..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We recently celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary at this venue. Several of our guests were able to stay in the units and were impressed by the introductory service that they experienced.
When it came to organising our evening Maree and Leigh could not have been more helpful setting up the lounge and BBQ area in a most attractive way.Table decorations and floral arrangements were lovely.During the evening they helped ensure everything ran smoothly and a great time was had by all.
If you are thinking of holding a function do get in touch with them.

Room Tip: Our friends and family were more than happy with their rooms but certainly away from the road is a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Quiet, clean and good value for the money. Older style motel, well maintained with very comfortable beds. The pool being unheated didn't matter with the high temperatures we experienced. Although near the railway trains are rare, or we didn't hear them. A short drive to the city, helpful owners when you need to know something local.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Of Plenty
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Have just come back from 2 lovely nights in this nice motor lodge.
Stayed in a large room with a seperate bedroom--ideal for the kids. room very clean and tidy. older style motor lodge but very cosy and convienent to the city centre.
The hosts/owners are awesome and super obliging and friendly.
Only slight downside--for a large room that sleeps up to 6--the wee mini fridge was too small and we missed not having a set of tongs to use in the kitchen, lol, nothing major!!.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I recently stayed at the Clansman and really enjoyed my time there. Extremely friendly and helpful hosts.Very comfortable units and quiet. Handy to Hastings and the Racecourse. happy to stay there anytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat231045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, , New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed at the Clansman on our Honeymoon and the ambience of everything was superb. Exceedingly clean rooms and facilities plus a very comfortable bed and pillows which is a must when you are away from home.

Presentation of our unit was excellent and very welcoming. Leigh and Maree Cameron are hosts that are very rare to come accross these days and accommodated us in all aspects.

Their bar and meal service is the best that we have come across and great conversation was had by all. Not having to drive to have a meal and drink was a huge bonus and very relaxing.

We will be going back to the Clansman in March as it is everything we need in one package.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TinksSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.7 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clansman Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clansman Motor Lodge

Property: Clansman Motor Lodge
Address: 907 Railway Road | Hawkes Bay, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Clansman Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Clansman Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing