We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stars were out in Hastings”
Review of Omahu Motor Lodge

Omahu Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Omahu Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Very nice accommodation. Very clean, spacious and well appointed unit. We had No.20 at the front and initially thought it would be noisy. Were pleasantly relieved that the road noise did not bother us. Bed was comfortable, plenty of towels and toiletries in a large bathroom and great hot shower. Small kitchenette with microwave, toaster and plunger coffee. Four place setting crockery and cutlery for a studio was great, had sink and a quiet fridge!!!! Nice dining table and chairs with added comfy seat by window. Super quiet air con heater. Lovely seating BBQ areas. Security camera carpark a real plus. Hard to fault but may suggest the clothers rack be higher above the suitcase shelf. Overall Omahu Lodge had shining stars!!!

Room Tip: Could request a room away from the entrance, we were in rm 20 on the street front but it wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2012

Whenever we go to the Hawkes Bay we always try and stay here. The staff are super friendly and the rooms are so relaxing. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I like it when a place is better than I expected. Ours was a 2 bedroom unit with kitchen. IT was cold outside and the owner/manager had put the heat pump on before we arrived so it was warm. The heat pump had a quiet mode so left it on all night.
Got 100MB free wireless so it was good to check email.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farminventor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My wife arrived in Hastings looking for a nice place to stay and as others were full tried the Omahu which had one room left. The owner, Brian was friendly and helpful and showed us to our room. It was clean, modern and warm on a cold night.

The bed was comfortable but unfortunately the pillows although reasonably new were very soft for us. They were clean and probably fine for others but too soft for us. Otherwise a nice stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarknJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Myself and 3 other Ladies stayed here for 2 nights. The room was a great size, very comfortable,clean and modern. The owner was very friendly, and cleaning staff were also very nice and friendly. We will all come back and stay here when there is another event held at the Mission. Awesome weekend.!!!

Room Tip: Lovely and Spacious. Rooms further back you wouldnt hear road traffic so much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My partner and I stayed here as it was close to a friends wedding reception. It was clean, comfortable, warm accommodation, the managers were friendly and helpful. Each unit has a heat pump with its own temperature control, the bathroom is great, and it's very modern. Don't expect luxury, expect comfortable, good value accommodation.

Room Tip: Call the hotel they'll match any online price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtimnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

My family stayed one night. The unit appeared modern and tidy, however, in the evening when I pulled back the bed cover on one of the beds I was disgusted to find yellow food crumbs all over one of the pillow cases. It looked like someone had eaten a bag of chips and then wiped their face on the pillow.
I immediately rang the reception desk as I was concerned that the sheets had not been changed from the previous guests. The staff member had the audacity to enquire as to whether we had created the mess! She took the offending pillow away, did not change the sheets (or replace the pillow she had taken) insisting that they would be clean and then left. Needless to say we did not sleep well that night.

The following morning when we checked out we received a verbal apology but no form of discount for the unpleasant experience.

I will not be recommending Omahu Motor Lodge to my family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
6  Thank L0uie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBriMars, Owner at Omahu Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2011

We " smell a rat" on this one. It appears a " jack-up" with guests seeking a discount with an underhand move. Unit was fully cleaned from the night before.. ie.. clean sheets, pillowcases,
etc. Unfortunately Minder on duty did not quite follow correct procedures.
Guest was checked out by owner, when apology was offered. Guest commented that unit was
in every otherway immaculate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
1.8 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
95 reviews
4 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumberland Court Motel
Cumberland Court Motel
#9 of 18 in Hastings
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omahu Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omahu Motor Lodge

Address: 327 Omahu Road, Hastings, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £71 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Omahu Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omahu Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing