We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality par excellence!”

Grandvue Country Stay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hastings
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grandvue Country Stay
Ranked #4 of 10 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed with Diane and Keith last Spring, when we did the On Yer Bike Vineyard Tour. We normally book a room in a hotel but everywhere was full because of the Mission Bay Concert. I phoned Diane, her accommodation was full but she gave me the name of a friends B&B, again fully booked. Things were getting desperate, then Diane phoned me back, she offered us a private family bedroom, as long as I didn't mind the wardrobe full of family memorabilia clutter!
Did we mind? Not at all, the room was excellent. All the other reviews state just how good the place is. The thing that makes it special are Diane and Keith, they go beyond the call of duty to make you welcome. I don't think I will be booking a hotel room again after this experience. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

The Grandvue is not the highlife; it's not amidst the hustle and bustle; it's no party scene. It's just home...with Keith and Dianne. If you want to know where to go, what to do, who's who in the neighborhood (there's plenty of all of that close by), these are your people and this is your place. It doesn't get nicer, cleaner, more comfortable, more real, more New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElaineRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We chose the Grand Vue as it was within walking distance of the On Yer Bike Vineyard Tour. After a great day visiting several vineyards Diane was kind enough to cook us a lovely dinner. Our two night stay was very enjoyable and we were made to feel very welcome in their comfortable home and even enjoyed a swim in the pool. It made lovely change from anonymous hotels / motels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in Feb when we went to the area and did a cycling tour of the wineries. Very interesting chatting to hosts, Diane and Keith, a wealth of information on the area.
Would definitely recommend
Sylvia

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsb544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Booked by internet for three nights plus evening meals as we wanted to see a bit of the area including Hastings and Napier as we had not been back for many years. We were delighted with our choice as Keith and Dianne were very helpful and welcoming. The accommodation was excellent and Dianne's cooking was delicious! We would be happy to return anytime and we're glad to recommend this to anybody.

Room Tip: Any room you're given would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We arrived after an epic drive to find ourselves warmly welcomed by Dianne and Keith who were so accommodating, even cooking us dinner at the last minute. Our one year old immediately took to them, trying to drag Keith around by the hand so that he could walk around and explore his new surroundings.

Our room was very nice, with a very comfortable bed, en suite with a powerful shower and French windows so that we had direct access to the room without having to go through the house. Breakfast is epic! I never realised just how many breakfast cereals there are. I think that Dianne had well over 20 different cereals, so that even the most discerning guest could find something that they enjoyed. Cooked breakfasts were also available if we had wanted them.

The house itself situated on the edge of what is known as the "wine triangle"; three roads that encompass a large number of vineyards. For any cyclists, a few minutes down the road was Ash Ridge vineyard which does cycle tours of the vineyards and has an excellent selection of wines itself. For drivers Cafe 5, a 20 minute drive away, does a tasting hamper which you order the day before, they phone three vineyards and on the day you collect your hamper and tour the vineyards where you will have a wine to go with each portion of your picnic. The food is excellent and it is well worth going to Cafe 5 even if you do not do the tasting tour.

Grandvue is well located and it is easy to get to all the main attractions like Napier and Hastings. Keith and Dianne are lovely and make you feel as though you are staying with family. We will definitely be returning to stay on our next visit to New Zealand.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We kick started our north island tour staying at Grandvue. What a delight when we found that our husbands had also booked dinner here (it was Valentine's Day and something we fuss over being Canadians) Dianne made a wonderful roast lamb, but most of all will remember her five layer Pavlova!!! Have the photos to prove it! One couple had to share the bathroom with our hosts, but it did not prove to be a problem. The grounds were immaculate, the linens luxurious and we felt so at home...something that Keith said they strived for it to be. Anyone can do great accomodation, but it did feel like we were having dinner and breakfast with new found friends. It was close enough to the Napier Art Deco festival and lots of wineries. Would definitely go back again if in the area and again thanks for starting our tour out right!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
4.4 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
34 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
7.6 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
95 reviews
6.7 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
66 reviews
6.2 mi away
No photo provided
Frimley Lodge Motel
#15 of 18 in Hastings
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandvue Country Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandvue Country Stay

Address: 2596 State Highway 50, Hastings 4175, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing