We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We recently checked in here with a motorhome after spending some days at Kennedy Park, Napier and being a Top 10 also, expected similar standards. The charge per night was the same but instead, we got tired looking facilities and very surprised to find a charge for the showers in a Top 10, $1 for either 4 or 6 mins (according to the signage), add to this that it took over two minutes for the hot water to come through, although in actual fact the $1 coin did give 6 minutes even though the sign in the gents said four. We were initiallly told to park in an area which turned out to be a dirt patch under trees, don't know if we would have had any sattelite reception, as once we parked where we were told found that every time there was a little breeze we had acorns dropping on the roof, there would have been no way of sleeping! We went back to the office to ask about shifting to find it was unattended so we just moved to a grassy site away from the trees, it was OK. We were surprised also to find a Top 10 that had an area of permanents as well as a large number of fruit pickers in the back-packers accomodation who of course, had no where to go when they weren't working. In between the ladies and gents facilities was a large fishpond that looked as though it hadn't been cleaned for months, all bright-green algae. Over-all our stay wasn't what we expect from a Top 10 and as a result,we checked out very early the next morning.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HastingsTop10, Front Office Manager at Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review our park.
Please take note of response regarding our metered showers.
You will find our site prices are normally at least $1 lower then kenedy park
You will find 25 % of all parks are metred in this country, and there will soon be much more.
I dont understand where the dirt patches are. We cant seem to find any, not this time of the year.
Unfortunately, acorns are apart of some of the trees that we have here. Believe me, the trees are much appreciated over the summer period. (Most other summers anyway :) And are what this park so unique.
We are glad that you found a nice grassy site away from the trees.
We welcome everyone in our park, including backpackers., and im sure, they were most certainly not in your way.
Our fish pond was cleaned, is often cleaned, and is the first comment we have had regarding. The kids love to watch the fish and eels in it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

very friendly staff with awesome spotless rooms ,bbq area is AMAZING and the pool tops it all off im planning on making this a regular place to come and stay with my children and having splash planet right next door its awesome.I highly recommend this holiday park to all :-) the staff make you feel very welcome and they help you out if your lost in the town also

Room Tip: The hotels in the holiday park are AMAZING
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoneyBrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

While staying at The Hastings Top 10 with my family during the summer holiday 2012 we spent four nights, We found the service very efficient and friendly, the pool area was kept clean & tidy at all times. Really well positioned location just 5 minutes walk from splash planet which was a hit with the kids, our family cabin was clean, comfortable and spacious.
The owners/staff were a great help they were more than happy to help with giving directions & ideas of things to do when I could talk the kids into doing something other than playing the the Top Tens Pool.
We got exactly what we were after, a relaxing family getaway Will definitely be back for the.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

While staying at The Hastings Top 10 with my family during the summer holiday 2012 we spent four nights, We found the service very efficient and friendly, the pool area was kept clean & tidy at all times. Really well positioned location just 5 minutes walk from splash planet which was a hit with the kids, our family cabin was clean, comfortable and spacious.
The owners/staff were a great help they were more than happy to help with giving directions & ideas of things to do when I could talk the kids into doing something other than playing the the Top Tens Pool.
We got exactly what we were after, a relaxing family getaway Will definitely be back for the.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miaskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We needed a place to stay with our three kids after a long day's drive from Wellington. We paid our $80 and drove to our designated piece of grass with its plug just before 7pm. We looked around and found the pool A. was very very cold B. closed at 7:30pm C. required $8 payment to sit in the hot tub. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!?! Then, we discovered the $1 charge for 4 or 6 minutes (conflicting signs). ARE YOU KIDDING ME??!!? The kids discovered the trampoline to be in disrepair with holes in the netting. My daughter happened into the "family cabins" washrooms - yikes!! It was seriously scary. Front desk was not particularly cheerful to change any opinion. However the main bathrooms were fine, the outdoor kitchen sinks were clean. I just think if you're granted the Top Ten franchise, then paying for showers and hottubs and having facilities 'seen better days' isn't consistent. Perhaps an audit and review of your name/fees is in order. It's not the worse, but hard to look past these things to recommend it. Therefore, I do not recommend this campsite as it is not good value. Carry on to Napier....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank karenwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HastingsTop10, Front Office Manager at Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for your review.
As management we would like to clarify a few things.
Our park is the only holiday park in Hastings. Hastings is a prldomenant wine and orchard growing region.
All year round and every year we have a huge influx of people staying outside this park from over seas to work in the orchards. They freedom camp, and can also stay in the orchards/fields themselves.
Particularly this time of the year, thousands of people come to town. Before we metred the showeres every night and day, we would have people sneaking into this park to use the showers. We have tried locks, we have spent a fortune installing cameras everywhere. To know avail.
They just do not use all the facilities, they can also leave a huge amount of work/mess. Not to mention a security issue to all staying at our park
We have found by metreing the showers, it has nearly illuminated the problem.
Unfortunately, it can upset others.
We have tried to adjust our tarriffs accordingly, and communicate to all staying that our showers are metred before they visit our park.
(You will find that approx 25% of parks in NZ have Metred showers)
Our NEW pool complex - Heat pumps are being installed in 10 days times, arriving from America, and our large pool will be kept at a constant 34 degrees, right threw winter and will be free of charge to all staying at our park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Our family of 3 camped on a non-power site at Hastings Holiday Park over Waitangi weekend. The campsite was spacious and quiet, and kitchen facilities good ( and clean).
However, i was disappointed to find we had to pay $1.00 per use of the coin -operated showers. I expected all facilities to be inclusive at a Top 10 holiday park which is supposedly a top of the range camping ground. At $21 per person per night, surely a "free" hot shower is not too much to ask for. Managers should supply shower tokens if the aim is to limit hot water use or free up facilities.
We were participating in a sporting event and would have enjoyed the spa pool (in a smart new swimming pool complex) but at $8.00 for 30 minutes decided this was also a bit of a rip-off!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Stayed only one night in transit through to Gisborne, but third time at Hastings Top10. Stayed in the basic cabin this time which was clean and functional, pretty cramped for 4 people. Toilet/showers were clean enough. Showered at SplashPlanet so we didn't need to fork out extra cash for showering at the camp ground, which I wouldn't expect at a Top10 normally. The pool and outdoor dining area are excellent but overall I'd describe the place as looking 'a bit tired'.
Service was 50/50, staff at the office were fantastic and helpful but did have to wait until 3 o'clock until the cabin was ready.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank floydbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.9 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
25 reviews
1.6 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
25 reviews
10.1 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 610 Windsor Avenue, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: £43 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park – Setup camp to discover all that Hastings, Napier and Havelock North has to offer.10 Acres of beautiful park like grounds, in the centre of Hastings. Shady tree-lined avenues, amazing landscaped grounds,Large heated Swimming pool with amazing outdoor BBQ area ,topped with our own lake make this park a relaxing, enjoyable holiday setting for everyone to share. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing