We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed March 2013. Playground and pool area were great for kids but amenities were very dated and did not appear to have been cleaned during our stay. Good location and great to be near Splash Planet and our tent site was pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellingtonRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    97
    42
    23
    12
See reviews for
161
67
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The staff were super helpful and friendly, doing their best to make our stay a good one. Facilities good even though a little dated. We had a deluxe ensuite unit as well as a camp site. I liked the location of the 2, though perhaps paving stones throughout the garden area would be a good addition. A lot of taps dripped, and disliked having to pay for a shower when paid peak prices for the site. Perhaps tokens could be used instead of coins, that way it will still stop the seasonal workers helping themselves.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013 via mobile

Traveling through New Zeeland by campervan with two small kids. Got very excited about the Top 10 Holiday Parks after visiting Whatuwhiwhi, Kauri Coast, Wellington, Martinborough etc.. However disappointed in Hastings.. Quite expensive compared to other parks ($ 58 just the place) with same/less facilities. Furthurmore not customer focused as every basics need (e.g. showers) to be paid and reception is not advising well. So from our perspective not worth to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North,
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed in a deluxe ensuite unit and found it worked really well for our family of four. The lounge/dining room area was generously sized. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was great having a pleasant walk down the road and through a park to reach Splash Planet. Great playground on site and the pools were lovely too. Nice to have chickens wandering around and our 4 year old was intrigued about being able to buy their eggs at the office. Only downsides were that the floors weren't particularly clean (needed a bit of a mop), and we found it very hard to get info from the office prior to arrival - had wanted to know if we could use a highchair and what bedding was provided. After two phone calls (which no-one answered) and three emails (with vague answers) we still didn't know....but there was a high chair waiting when we arrived. For the record, the single beds all had pillows and bottom sheets (so we didn't need to take pillows and bottom sheets like we had done).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMPalmerstonNorth_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom chalet for Art Deco weekend. The office was very helpful in providing maps and the key in a secure area, as I called earlier to inform them that we were driving 2 1/2 hours away, and will be coming late. The unit itself was very clean, and the lounge set was new. We had no problems getting to Napier in 20 minutes. The facilities were top-notch, including the swimming pool, the facilites for storing food, laundry and showers. For those people camping, note that there are charges for the amenities as storing food and showers. Also somewhat disappointing was that the advertised rate was only for 2 people, so even if the unit was advertised to accommodate 6 (5 actually, as the king sized bed should be counted as for 3 people), there is an additional charge of NZ$30 per adult per day. I saw some other units that were occupied with more than 6 people, and I hope these guests had paid for each one of them. And Splash Planet, of course, is just behind the Holiday Park.

Room Tip: Factor in charges for each additional person. Distance to Napier is 20 minutes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Beautiful located and landscaped holiday park with easy access to Napier and the wineries of Hawke's Bay. Large lots for campervans and caravans, clean kitchen and restroom buildings. Helpful and friendly management.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carterton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed at Hastings Holiday Park on 25 January - the managers were away so I filled in a complaint form when we left but have heard nothing from them.

On the up side - the camping area of the park is well laid out and the pool is lovely - but we had a very disappointing stay in a motel unit.

The unit was very tired and certainly didn't live up to its advertised description. It is more like a tourist flat, not a motel unit

The only seating in the lounge were an uncomfortable sofa bed and a single bed.

The bathroom is very dated but the worst thing was the toilet - it kept filling (loudly) with water long after it had been flushed. I lifted the lid on the cistern to see if something was stuck and was horrified at the amount of mold inside - yuck!

Worst of all, were the paper thin walls between units. From our bed we were able to hear the person in the next unit going to the toilet - not pleasant! - and their toilet flushing loudly.

We received a Top 10 discount staying here but even at the reduced price of $175 for a family of 4, it was very overpriced and we would not stay here again or recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Bring a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.9 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
89 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Kennedy Park Resort Napier
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Cumberland Court Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
50 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 610 Windsor Avenue, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park – Setup camp to discover all that Hastings, Napier and Havelock North has to offer.10 Acres of beautiful park like grounds, in the centre of Hastings. Shady tree-lined avenues, amazing landscaped grounds,Large heated Swimming pool with amazing outdoor BBQ area ,topped with our own lake make this park a relaxing, enjoyable holiday setting for everyone to share. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing