We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napier Top Tastes”

Odyssey New Zealand
Ranked #1 of 5 Tours in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hawke's Bay's Leading Wine & Gourmet Experiences. We provide interactive tours designed to awaken every sense. Built around Hawkes Bays internationally acclaimed wine and food industry, we encourage your input so we can cater the Odyssey experience to your own personal interests and desires. Choose from: "A Wine & Gourmet Odyssey" including - Wine Tasting 4-5 Wineries, Gourmet Platter at Top Winery Restaurant (4pm), Sightseeing with Fully Guided Commentary, Vine to Glass Experience. "The Odyssey Experience" including - Wine Tasting 6-7 Wineries, Fully Guided Tour of the Church Road Winery, Wine Museum & Tom McDonald Cellar, Lunch with Wine at Mission Estate, Behind the scenes tour of a boutique winery, Sightseeing with Fully Guided Scenery, Vine to Glass Experience, Gourmet Platter at Top Winery Restaurant. "A Twilight Odyssey" - The world's only Progressive Three Course Winery Dinner at NZ’s Top Winery Restaurants including - Sightseeing with Fully Guided Commentary, Interactive Wine Tasting, Champagne Sunset from Te Mata Peak, Wine with Dinner, Desserts & Dessert Wine,Tea/Coffee.
Whangarei
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Napier Top Tastes”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This was a 3 hour tour of Napier for Cruise passengers from Marine Parade, Clive, Arataki Honey tasting stop, Tuki Tuki Valley, Craggy Range, Havelock North, Strawberry Patch, Hastings City Tour, Hawkes Bay Opera House, Historic Oak Avenue, Orchards and vinyards, Silky Oaks Chocolate factory tasting, Mission Estate, national Tobacco Company and Port Ahuriri.
Excellent commentary on the trip, highly recommended

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Woolies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    16
    3
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked the evening Odyssey which tours 3 vineyards, one for each course. We were picked up by Dermot, expat Irishman, who was charming and entertaining and full of local information! As nights were drawing in, we stared the tour by being driven to Te Mata peak and handed a glass of bubbly to take in the views. Dermot pointed out a property below where we would be having our main course. We proceeded to the first winery, Vidal, where we were guided through a series of wines whilst enjoying an ant pasti platter of local produce. Next onto the amazing Craggy range winery, which we had viewed from above, to enjoy our main courses (these had been selected from a choice of 6 at the first venue). Here we chose our desserts before moving onto the final venue, The Mission. Once again we had some guided tastings and superb food! Dermot drove us home (just as well as we couldn't have driven ourselves!) What a great night! highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank trinketgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Half Day Wine Tasting Odyssey”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This half day tour was thoroughly enjoyable. Brendan picked us up from our accommodation and proceeded to inform us about wine growing, tasting and the region in a four hour, four vineyard tour. Each winery we visited had its own unique character, and our group of three separate couples were soon enjoying the ambience of the afternoon and each others company.
Overall really enjoyed the day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank gordo653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Just spent afternoon with Colin and his Odyssey wine tour. We have been on many wine tours all over NZ and Aus and this was by far the best and most enjoyable. Colin was informative and knowledgeable and respected by those people at the vine- yards. .We visited 4 vine-yards on the afternoon tour. All very different but all having amazing wines. At the last one, Odyssey had organised superb platters for us. The 10 people on the trip were all of similar age and we had a whale of a time.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anitaznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Great New Years Eve”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We enjoyed NYE with Brendan as our guide. We had a great night and visited 3 wineries and celebrated NYE in style.. Also enjoyed all the wines too and Brendan adðed great insight and humour to the night!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Odyssey New Zealand also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Odyssey New Zealand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing