We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy stay”

Anvil Court Motor Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anvil Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #10 of 10 Hastings B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stopped in at The Anvil late one evening when we had not pre-organised any accommodation.
The room we had was a bit tired but it was comfortable and it suited our needs.
We cooked dinner in the little kitchen.
The facilities were quite OK.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank JellyBWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Anvil is a good low cost accommodation. they are conveniently located, about 10-15 mins walk from the main centre.
staff are friendly. it is nothing flash, but it is priced to suit. even at the cheap price, they still supply towels, soap & its still very clean & tidy. just dated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spookikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife, son(16) and I recently stayed at Anvil Court Motor Lodge in Hastings. We had initially booked for four nights but finished up leaving after two due to a change in our circumstances (we went there to visit our daughter who left Hastings for much of the time we were booked to visit).
There's not much I can say that was good about it. Yes they have a spa pool (listed on their website) but as it transpired it hasn't been in use for many months and there was just a few inches of cold stagnant water and an empty bottle floating in it. The single bed in the lounge was a pull-out sofa bed, which might have been OK except the mattress was only 4-5cm thick and with a very thin, dirty duvet (the substantial contamination was on the underside of the duvet and not the result of dirty bags being put on the bed as the manager suggested). The motel was frequented by seasonal workers who enjoyed smoking and drinking at the table outside their room, two doors from ours. My son and I tried using the pool table in the recreation room but abandoned play as none of the lights would work and it was becoming too dark to see. There were beds and mattresses piled up around it so play was rather cramped anyway. I tried using the spabath in the room and was met with several clumps of black crud when I turned the pump on. Apparently previous guests absconded with a key so we had to share the one key between us and hope the missing one wasn't used in our absence. There was an unheated outside swimming pool which looked well maintained but was too cold to use. Other than that, the place was a bit tired and lacklustre. We had to forfeit our $15 per night discount for staying for four nights (which we accept without grievance, acknowledging it was our choice to leave earlier than initially booked), but the $160 per night seemed like poor value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AnonymousAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

A little old-fashioned and worn out in places (bathroom) but clean and beds comfy.

Room Tip: Don't have the room at the end of the row as smokers congregate outside at all hours of day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonnieBlueMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
6.1 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
8 reviews
1 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#11 of 18 in Hastings
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Frimley Lodge Motel
#15 of 18 in Hastings
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Court Motor Lodge

Address: 1400 Karamu Road North, Hastings, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Hastings
Price Range: £43 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anvil Court Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anvil Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing