We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Fun!”

Hawkes Bay Farmyard Zoo
Gisborne, Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Family Fun!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My 3 children absolutely love it here (it is our 2nd visit), they got to feed baby lamb, cuddle some little chicks, go for a pony ride, feed all sorts of birds and animals. They also had a blast on the playground. The staff were really friendly and it was very reasonably priced.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    7
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Kid nirvana!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a great little set up - from the road the farmyard zoo doesn't look like much, but once you're through the gates it's a different story. Animals everywhere, most of them friendly enough to pat. Kids will spend ages running back and forth between the various cages and pens, guaranteeing Mum and Dad at least an hour of peace. My kind of place!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A must see for anyone with small children!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Wonderful place for kids to feed animals, ride horses and have fun, just great. Brilliant family day out.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kizilay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely and enjoyable place”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We visited as a family of five with children five to fourteen - and we all enjoyed it enormously. The many animals were all kept very well and looked good (if not to say "happy"). We spent 2.5 hours and could have stayed longer. The family price of $30 is certainly worth it - and quite a few dollars spent on animal feed ($1/cup) even more so. Our favorites were the lambs, the ostriches, the horses and " Ossie".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Axel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“lots of fun for for the little kids”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

it was lovely. bottle feeding lambs, being chased by the ducks chickens et al. its a perfect destination for people with kids. the

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawkes Bay Farmyard Zoo also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Hawkes Bay Farmyard Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing