We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place in nestled in the Hawkes Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
John's House & The Pavilion
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place in nestled in the Hawkes Bay”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed at John's house recently attending a friends wedding in Havelock North. We were a family of four with two extra adults. We couldn't have had a more pleasant experience. The house is on a farm with cows, pigs, and alpacas. All of us, especially the kids, thoroughly enjoyed the experience!! The highlight though was the hospitality of the owner, who was very helpful from the date of the booking throughout our entire stay! He was especially great with our kids! Would highly recommend John's house if you ever have a chance to go to this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asia_travel_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

John’s House is a rare find. Perfect location between Hastings and Havelock North. The house is an architectural pleasure – great light and space, with a lovely flow and great views from every room. So comfortable and relaxing - a true home away from home. Our dog was welcome too – an added bonus. Without hesitation, I’d recommend John’s House to anyone visiting Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncsnikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

John's house is such a wonderful place to stay while in Hastings! It is close to everything and is such a peaceful house. There is so much privacy and the house has a very 'at home' feel. It is nice to relax around the house all day or a retreat to come back to at the end of a fun-filled day. The gardens are very well maintained and the house is very well cared for. It is spacious and comfortable with so many windows to look out of. It is very private and you don't see any other houses around. Nick is very helpful as well and checks in every so often to make sure everything is okay and if there is anything he can help with. We had an awesome weekend here, just wish we were able to stay longer! I would definatley recommend John's house if you are going to be in the area!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had a large group at John's House without any problems. It is a nice spacious property with beautiful garden - it is lovely seeing the animals over the fence too : ) An airbed was inflated and dressed for us and breakfast was provided including homemade muesli and fresh milk from the cows. We felt so spoilt! I loved all the art, photos and books around the place, it is so homely - the guest book showed that even Ian McKellan (Lord of the Rings) had enjoyed a stay there! It is so peaceful and quiet making it so easy to relax there. We had planned to go out on one of the evenings but found that we liked hanging out at the house so it was a night in for all : )
We booked an On Yer Bike winery tour so we got a shuttle to the main office. This was about $50. If you take your own car then you have the freedom to get anywhere across the Hawkes Bay from John's House. We went to the Sunday market at the Racecourse which is very close by. The only negative I would say is that there wasn't an iPod dock or other music facility. I would highly recommend John's House for a relaxing weekend in the Bay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renrenfiretruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at John's House earlier in the year with our beloved pooch Max (yes, he was welcomed as well which was a huge selling point for us) and we cannot rave enough about the discrete hospitality provided by Nick and Judy during our time there. We felt totally welcomed but the only time we saw them after that was if we initiated contact... really nice to have that freedom.

This property is a magic gem in the middle of wine country and boy did we make the most of that! Nothing better than spending the day exploring the all activities in the region and being able to return back to your own piece of paradise to recharge for the next foray.

We indulged in a restaurant in nearby Havelock North one evening but then decided to kick back and have a BBQ on the last night, so that private outdoor area and beautiful gardens are a real asset. Simply a stunning spot to watch the sunset over a perfect day.

We'll be back - guaranteed

Thanks Nick & Judy for such a great place to stay

PS. Max absolutely loved it to... nice having all the farm yard animals to interact with.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.0 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#5 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millar Road
Millar Road
#1 of 10 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's House & The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's House & The Pavilion

Property: John's House & The Pavilion
Address: 58 Miller Road | off St Georges Road North, Hastings 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — John's House & The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique holiday accommodation is a designer two-bedroom house created by celebrated architect John Scott located in the Hawke's Bay / Hastings / Havelock North area on the north island of New Zealand. Conveniently located 20 minutes from all the best Hawke's Bay area things to do including cycling trails, wineries, golf courses, restaurants and shops, you can also reach the Havelock North village with a leisurely 10 minute walk along the Karamu Stream cycle track from John's House. Private ensuite facilities, pastoral setting, stunning views, full kitchen, bed and breakfast-style morning meal supplies, outdoor living areas, free wifi, pet friendly facilities, and disabled accessibility are some of the most popular amenities that John's House guests mention in their rave reviews. More than just a short-term holiday rental, because of its unique architectural design and stylishly appointed interior spaces, John's House is a memorable part of any Hawke's Bay holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your John's House & The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing