We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John's House & The Pavilion
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Thanks for such a relaxing time. Fabulous house with everything we needed. Lovely muesli and home made breads and spreads. So nice to be able to have our dog friends with us on holiday. Thanks Nick and Judy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review. We're happy to have clean and well behaved dogs that don't jump onto furniture! Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Pavilion, and we hope you'll come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for John's House & The Pavilion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at John's House and we had such a lovely time that we went back, this time to the Pavilion, Nick and Judy's new accomodation house. It's architecturaly brilliant and it's placed in one of the most impressive loans I have ever seen, much better than a PGA golf course green. Nick and Judy are very friendly and they looked after us all the time. In addition they bake very good bread and they do an amazing muesly and fresh juice. The place was super clean and the atmosphere at night is was so calm that we had one of the bests sleeps in years.

Room Tip: The Pavilion is closer to the swimming pool.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

Thanks for your great review, it's good that you could come back and experience the Pavilion after John's House, quite different but still with those impressive lawns of Nick's. Lucky he's maintaining his keenness in that department!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our second stay at John's house, so excited to stay this time at the Pete Bossley-designed Pavilion. Cleverly sited for the sun, but private from the driveway, main house and John's house. Tiny compact kitchen surprisingly efficient to use, living spaces and the bedroom window seat are perfect for following the sun - something about good architecture that adds greatly to the experience. Again, Nick and Judy are more than generous with homemade bread, orange juice freshly made from their trees, even sent us home with bags of limes and broad beans from the garden. Pathway access to the river/cycle trail is a special touch - we could ride into town for coffee, easy drive to the best of Hawkes Bay. good for the soul. Bonus was the funniest animals in town: the extremely fat shetland pony kept beside the pool for his own good (you gotta ask), and baby bulls doing what teenage lads do in the spring, getting frisky.

Room Tip: Wheelchair access ramp, including accessible shower
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathandGreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

The miniature horse, Misty, is now known as Mini, and lives happily at the Farmyard Zoo in Haumoana. It came down to the horse or me! Misty was duly donated.. We simply couldn't keep the weight off her and she was in dire danger of eating herself to death. We're busy with further developments in the garden now, a bit easier to manage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed in The Pavilion and what a lovely time we had! The accommodation was a class above and the picturesque surroundings made for a relaxing few days in a tranquil hideaway. Nick is the perfect host and we would highly recommend The Pavilion as a relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

We're pretty happy with The Pavilion as a relaxing, stylish and affordable retreat for a couple. Thanks for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We spent last weekend at John's house arriving on Friday afternoon and leaving Sunday morning. We were greeted by Nick who lives in a separate house on the property. In between Nick's own home and John's house, there is separate accommodation called the Pavilion. Each is positioned to give privacy and views and the outlook is on to the property's immaculate lawns and then onto their paddocks which have a few farm pets - alpacas and very tame kune kunes that are not bothered at all if you have a walk through their paddocks (or feed them your bread crusts in the case of the pigs).

The house feels immediately like home. The beds are very comfortable and the water pressure in the shower is great. There were home made jams, bread, and juice left for us. John's house is well equipped with everything you'll need. At this time of year I would recommend taking gumboots or similar if you want to go into the paddocks or walk along by the stream behind the house.

The house itself is really interesting with rooms positioned at unusual angles, so that you get great views out of the many windows, while still providing privacy for the other rooms of the house. My favourite spot was the window seat in the dining/kitchen area, which gets the first sun of the day.

My favourite feature of the house was that rather than open up a whole window you have the option of opening out just the timber framing down one side of the window like a slim wooden shutter - very cool.

We had a lovely weekend and could happily have spent several more days there.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are totally private from the other, each has its own bathroom.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank custy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2015

I'm sorry I've taken so long to respond to your wonderful and thoughtful review! It's certainly gratifying to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Just to update you on the kune kunes: Mr Piggy went to meet his maker about a year ago, but Mrs Piggy continues happily, mostly reclining under the oaks and pear trees depending on the temperature.
We're enjoying a warm summer, and the pool is getting plenty of use! Guests continue to value their privacy, comfort and our great proximity to the village just along the stream.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We recently spent a wonderful weekend in Havelock North and stayed at The Pavilion. It's a perfect choice for a couple visiting Hawkes Bay, and looking for comfort and privacy. We loved the design. Everything was fresh luxury - welcoming, sunny, with great views from the bedroom and sitting room, and the outside entertaining area. It's also very well located for visiting the whole area. Many thanks to Judy and Nick for the great welcome which they gave us when we arrived.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a rare treat to experience the inspiring architecture of John Scott and the generous hospitality of Nick and Judy. There are not many occasions and places where there is a warm loaf of bread and homemade preserves awaiting your arrival. Highly recommend John's House.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RangitotoAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Millar Road
Millar Road
#1 of 11 in Hastings
130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's House & The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's House & The Pavilion

Address: 58 Miller Road | off St Georges Road North, Hastings 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: £146 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — John's House & The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique holiday accommodation is a designer two-bedroom house created by celebrated architect John Scott located in the Hawke's Bay / Hastings / Havelock North area on the north island of New Zealand. Conveniently located 20 minutes from all the best Hawke's Bay area things to do including cycling trails, wineries, golf courses, restaurants and shops, you can also reach the Havelock North village with a leisurely 10 minute walk along the Karamu Stream cycle track from John's House. Private ensuite facilities, pastoral setting, stunning views, full kitchen, bed and breakfast-style morning meal supplies, outdoor living areas, free wifi, pet friendly facilities, and disabled accessibility are some of the most popular amenities that John's House guests mention in their rave reviews. More than just a short-term holiday rental, because of its unique architectural design and stylishly appointed interior spaces, John's House is a memorable part of any Hawke's Bay holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your John's House & The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing