We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality & Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John's House & The Pavilion
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Great Hospitality & Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We recently rented both this property and the adjacent one bedroom property 'The Pavillion' for our annual strategic retreat and it was ideal for our requirements. The tranquil surroundings were the perfect setting to enable us to concentrate on the task at hand without any distractions. However we were close enough to the local restaurants to take a break and walk there for lunch and dinner. The hosts Nick & Jude were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend either of these properties for a holiday or business retreat venue.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We thought your use of the properties as a work retreat/planning session was inspired! So even locals can have the pleasure of our great property without the bother of driving too far. It's great the break from the office worked so well for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
25
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a wonderful long weekend with my parents at John's House - perfect place for the kids and grandparents to hangout!!! The setting of lawns, trees, pool, pony, cows and pig just great for our city boys!!! Wonderful hosts and a fabulous spot to relax and enjoy a weekend in the Bay!! Would definitely go back. Thanks Nick & Judy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Our guests seem to really like the animals - cattle, alpacas and Misty the overweight pony. We're lucky to have the countryside experience but still be so close to Havelock North. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

" Had a wonderful time at John's House. Was a great base for trveling Hawks Bay area and visiting friends. My son loved waking up to the animals and saying goodmorning and goodnight everyday. My husband and I gaut to relax in the setting and enjoyed a busy yet peaceful holiday.
Perfect for a family Holiday.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ocifilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
I think the animals make a point of difference for us - we had the alpacas shorn a few weeks ago and they look quite different now. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were here for business and The Pavillion was the perfect place to base ourselves - We had a great stay - the house is restful and beautiful - tastefully kitted out - loved the perfect lawn and spacious, established garden/trees setting - and the bed was super comfortable (always important!). The tasty extras of fresh Hawkes Bay fruit, home-made muesli and whole milk etc were awesome. John and Judy are welcoming and friendly hosts. We'd definitely love to come back here again and spend more time at the Pavillion, and in the region - so much great stuff so see and do there. Thanks John and Judy!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay so much! We're getting more garden established around the Pavilion now and it's not looking quite so brand spanking new. Much more settled into its surroundings - We hope you'll be able to make a return visit in the winter, perhaps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Thanks for such a relaxing time. Fabulous house with everything we needed. Lovely muesli and home made breads and spreads. So nice to be able to have our dog friends with us on holiday. Thanks Nick and Judy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thanks for your kind review. We're happy to have clean and well behaved dogs that don't jump onto furniture! Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Pavilion, and we hope you'll come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at John's House and we had such a lovely time that we went back, this time to the Pavilion, Nick and Judy's new accomodation house. It's architecturaly brilliant and it's placed in one of the most impressive loans I have ever seen, much better than a PGA golf course green. Nick and Judy are very friendly and they looked after us all the time. In addition they bake very good bread and they do an amazing muesly and fresh juice. The place was super clean and the atmosphere at night is was so calm that we had one of the bests sleeps in years.

Room Tip: The Pavilion is closer to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
Thanks for your great review, it's good that you could come back and experience the Pavilion after John's House, quite different but still with those impressive lawns of Nick's. Lucky he's maintaining his keenness in that department!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Our second stay at John's house, so excited to stay this time at the Pete Bossley-designed Pavilion. Cleverly sited for the sun, but private from the driveway, main house and John's house. Tiny compact kitchen surprisingly efficient to use, living spaces and the bedroom window seat are perfect for following the sun - something about good architecture that adds greatly to the experience. Again, Nick and Judy are more than generous with homemade bread, orange juice freshly made from their trees, even sent us home with bags of limes and broad beans from the garden. Pathway access to the river/cycle trail is a special touch - we could ride into town for coffee, easy drive to the best of Hawkes Bay. good for the soul. Bonus was the funniest animals in town: the extremely fat shetland pony kept beside the pool for his own good (you gotta ask), and baby bulls doing what teenage lads do in the spring, getting frisky.

Room Tip: Wheelchair access ramp, including accessible shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathandGreig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this review, 5 February 2015
The miniature horse, Misty, is now known as Mini, and lives happily at the Farmyard Zoo in Haumoana. It came down to the horse or me! Misty was duly donated.. We simply couldn't keep the weight off her and she was in dire danger of eating herself to death. We're busy with further developments in the garden now, a bit easier to manage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
3.9 mi away
Millar Road
Millar Road
#1 of 10 in Hastings
129 reviews
1.2 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
7.9 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#8 of 18 in Hastings
24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's House & The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's House & The Pavilion

Property: John's House & The Pavilion
Address: 58 Miller Road | off St Georges Road North, Hastings 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — John's House & The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique holiday accommodation is a designer two-bedroom house created by celebrated architect John Scott located in the Hawke's Bay / Hastings / Havelock North area on the north island of New Zealand. Conveniently located 20 minutes from all the best Hawke's Bay area things to do including cycling trails, wineries, golf courses, restaurants and shops, you can also reach the Havelock North village with a leisurely 10 minute walk along the Karamu Stream cycle track from John's House. Private ensuite facilities, pastoral setting, stunning views, full kitchen, bed and breakfast-style morning meal supplies, outdoor living areas, free wifi, pet friendly facilities, and disabled accessibility are some of the most popular amenities that John's House guests mention in their rave reviews. More than just a short-term holiday rental, because of its unique architectural design and stylishly appointed interior spaces, John's House is a memorable part of any Hawke's Bay holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your John's House & The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing