We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply outstanding.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John's House & The Pavilion
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Needed accommodation for our daughters wedding, 10 people over 4 nights and having the after wedding day also which had to accommodated 100 plus people.
This property was perfect in every way.

Firstly, the hospitality shown by the owners was outstanding, and nothing was too much trouble. This beautifully quiet and secluded property, a stones throw from town with all the amenities was exactly what was required. Their special touches of fresh home baked bread and muesli, assortment of food stuffs and fresh flowers all waiting for the weary traveller on arrival.

Magnificent grounds which was fabulous for the photographs and the spaciousness was amazing.

Would fully recommend this accommodation to anyone especially wanting the best of both worlds.

From all of us, it was paradise found and a huge thank you to the owners for their hospitality and help in making a very special day come true. I can see why you are so popular and will definitely return.

Many thanks, McGregor's.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 680,777,333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

The after-wedding party seems to work particularly well at John's House. With plenty of parking, covered outdoor space and the large open plan living area there's lots of room for guests to analyse the previous night's celebrations, eat, drink and relax! (And Nick really enjoys getting use of his charcoal barbecue to cook a fine piece of beef.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

We stayed at John's House for 4 nights. Not stayed anywhere like this before. Its unique. One large architectural designed property set in its own grounds with two double bedrooms with own bathrooms, lounge and kitchen. Stunning gardens, outside space to eat, alpacas, a pony with short legs and attitude, and a pig.

The house was home to host Nick's parents, his dad John was a fighter pilot who lived to over 90. The house ouzes history, old books, photographs, memorabilia everywhere.

We stayed here during our daughters 30th birthday. Judy picked blackberries and made her birthday muffins. Lovely hosts.

There are eating places nearby but we chose mainly to get takeaways and enjoy the space.

Ideal base for Hawke's Bay and vineyards. Haverlock North has great shops/ cafes/bars/restaurants within walking distance. Mountains and beaches close.

Loved it. Book it. Stay here.

A lovely part of New Zealand to explore.

PS, Nick gave us a tour of their new building they call The Pavilion. Its a new one bedroom hi tech property within stunning gardens. Looks fantastic.

Thanks Nick and Judy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judyp55, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

It was great you had such a good time - we like to think John's House and the Pavilion provide a rather different holiday experience.. An update on Misty, the wretched miniature horse with the attitude: She's now top of the equine pecking order at the Hawke's Bay Farmyard Zoo. They are far better at managing her exacting exercise and diet needs than we were, and we think she'll live a long and happy life there, with lots of good interesting company, both human and animal. Alpacas are much easier to keep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We recently rented both this property and the adjacent one bedroom property 'The Pavillion' for our annual strategic retreat and it was ideal for our requirements. The tranquil surroundings were the perfect setting to enable us to concentrate on the task at hand without any distractions. However we were close enough to the local restaurants to take a break and walk there for lunch and dinner. The hosts Nick & Jude were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend either of these properties for a holiday or business retreat venue.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

We thought your use of the properties as a work retreat/planning session was inspired! So even locals can have the pleasure of our great property without the bother of driving too far. It's great the break from the office worked so well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had a wonderful long weekend with my parents at John's House - perfect place for the kids and grandparents to hangout!!! The setting of lawns, trees, pool, pony, cows and pig just great for our city boys!!! Wonderful hosts and a fabulous spot to relax and enjoy a weekend in the Bay!! Would definitely go back. Thanks Nick & Judy

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Our guests seem to really like the animals - cattle, alpacas and Misty the overweight pony. We're lucky to have the countryside experience but still be so close to Havelock North. We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

" Had a wonderful time at John's House. Was a great base for trveling Hawks Bay area and visiting friends. My son loved waking up to the animals and saying goodmorning and goodnight everyday. My husband and I gaut to relax in the setting and enjoyed a busy yet peaceful holiday.
Perfect for a family Holiday.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank ocifilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

I think the animals make a point of difference for us - we had the alpacas shorn a few weeks ago and they look quite different now. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were here for business and The Pavillion was the perfect place to base ourselves - We had a great stay - the house is restful and beautiful - tastefully kitted out - loved the perfect lawn and spacious, established garden/trees setting - and the bed was super comfortable (always important!). The tasty extras of fresh Hawkes Bay fruit, home-made muesli and whole milk etc were awesome. John and Judy are welcoming and friendly hosts. We'd definitely love to come back here again and spend more time at the Pavillion, and in the region - so much great stuff so see and do there. Thanks John and Judy!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Glad you enjoyed your stay so much! We're getting more garden established around the Pavilion now and it's not looking quite so brand spanking new. Much more settled into its surroundings - We hope you'll be able to make a return visit in the winter, perhaps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Thanks for such a relaxing time. Fabulous house with everything we needed. Lovely muesli and home made breads and spreads. So nice to be able to have our dog friends with us on holiday. Thanks Nick and Judy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick P, Owner at John's House & The Pavilion, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for your kind review. We're happy to have clean and well behaved dogs that don't jump onto furniture! Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Pavilion, and we hope you'll come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
0.7 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
67 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cottages on St. Andrews & Lodge On St Georges
3.9 mi away
Millar Road
Millar Road
#1 of 11 in Hastings
130 reviews
1.2 mi away
St Andrews Escape
St Andrews Escape
#3 of 11 in Havelock North
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John's House & The Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John's House & The Pavilion

Address: 58 Miller Road | off St Georges Road North, Hastings 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: £123 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — John's House & The Pavilion 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury boutique holiday accommodation is a designer two-bedroom house created by celebrated architect John Scott located in the Hawke's Bay / Hastings / Havelock North area on the north island of New Zealand. Conveniently located 20 minutes from all the best Hawke's Bay area things to do including cycling trails, wineries, golf courses, restaurants and shops, you can also reach the Havelock North village with a leisurely 10 minute walk along the Karamu Stream cycle track from John's House. Private ensuite facilities, pastoral setting, stunning views, full kitchen, bed and breakfast-style morning meal supplies, outdoor living areas, free wifi, pet friendly facilities, and disabled accessibility are some of the most popular amenities that John's House guests mention in their rave reviews. More than just a short-term holiday rental, because of its unique architectural design and stylishly appointed interior spaces, John's House is a memorable part of any Hawke's Bay holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your John's House & The Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing