We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the original great ice cream and surroundings”
Review of Rush Munro's

Rush Munro's
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We stopped at Rush Munro's for ice cream during a recent visit to Hawke's Bay area, great stop should be reviewed for TA visitors.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still the original great ice cream and surroundings”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Deeeevine ice cream in a cool, garden setting. Free water on request and very friendly service. Do try it !!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank YaYaSisterWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    68
    10
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maungaturoto, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“hot day requires great icecream”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

ruzh is a great plsce to get s great ice cream on a hot day like today.
lots of flavors to choose from. prices sre not to bad either

Helpful?
Thank abseilor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place. Almost going back in time.”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Very quant setting, the layout hasn't changed much since I visited there as a child approx 50 yrs ago.
Relaxing place to visit, great service and just love their ice cream Sundays.
Trees to sit under and toilets also.
Open all year.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ERrol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rush Munro's Ice cream Gardens, for icecream delights to die for.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Rush Munro's ice cream parlour in Hastings has been a favorite in our family since my grandparents first started going there in there in the 1920's.

Set out in a beautiful sub-tropical garden, the ice-cream parlour itself has retained it's original art-deco era style, in line with the many protected heritage buildings around Napier and Hastings.

Beautifully presented and spotlessly clean, it is well worth going to Rush Munro's in Heretunga St West, if only to relax, admire and enjoy the ambiance of the roaring 20's.

Whenever we drive to Hastings, our family always stops at Rush Monro's for our favorite ice cream sundae's , especially Maple Walnut Sundae . Served in the traditional bowl with long spoon, this heady combination of real maple syrup, walnuts and the natural, gluten-free ice cream, using no artificial colours or preservatives, is simply delicious.

There are some 20 other natural real fruit ice cream flavours available, including our other favourites, Passionfruit, Lemon curd yogurt, Feijoa, Boysenberry and Moccachino. Given that Hawkes Bay is a the major fruit-growing region, there is always plenty of fresh and tasty fruit available locally for Rush Munro's to include in their ice cream.

So have fun checking out all the different ice cream flavours, and find out which you like best.

Enjoy !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Scrumptious Ice Cream-anytime on any day”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Well, this just has to be tasted to be believed! Thought my friends were exaggerating when they described in graphic detail just how good this ice cream is. Maple and Walnut was superb as was the Feijoa, but I also sampled and loved the Double Chocolate Chip and Vanilla Bean.
Not to be missed if you're in Hawkes Bay.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BubalooSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rush Munro's also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Rush Munro's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing