We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Millhills Lodge - Simply superb!”
Review of Millhills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millhills Lodge
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I can't say enough about Millhills Lodge. It was simply superb, combined with hospitality that I will remember forever. Sam & Penny went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing as is possible. The food was of the very highest standard and the wine was the very best of the Hawk's Bay vineyards. It was truly a delight waking-up every morning to such lovely rural surroundings. But there absolutely nothing rural about the accommodation - the cottages were as well-appointed and tastefully decorated as I've seen. In fact of all the places around the world we've stayed in, I can honestly say it doesn't get much better than Millhills Lodge.
Mitch Davidson, Glasgow.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our second visit to Millhills Lodge and Sam and Penny once again exceeded all our expectations with their magnificent food, hospitality and stunning accommodation. On this visit, we stayed in one of the Lodge's three luxury studio cottages. Far enough from the Lodge for privacy, close enough to all facilities. Our super king-size bed was fitted with high-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets, masses of pillows and a scrumptious cotton waffle-covered duvet. The en-suites are beautifully appointed with every imaginable guest amenity and the high-pressure shower is fed with multi-filtered rainwater. Bliss. Fluffy bathrobes and guest slippers are standard fare. Although you dine in the Lodge, each room has refreshment-making facilities with a superb range of teas, plunger coffee from the award-winning local roaster and stocked bar fridge. A new addition this time was the on-demand video library and free WiFi throughout the entire property – perfect for me to keep in touch with my business back in Hong Kong. We love Millhills Lodge. Penny and Sam are the perfect hosts for an exceptional stay in Hawke’s Bay. Highly recommended. The overall experience was first-class in every respect.

Room Tip: The three cottages all face the same way, so there is really no preference. Disabled facilities are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had a had a great time at Millhills, Sam and Penny were fantastic hosts, very accommodating and helpful in located the best vineyards ;) ,the rooms were spacious, comfortable and had all the 'mod cons'. The view from my room (lodge) was beautiful and the hotel is situated just outside a lovely little town called Havelock North. What also made my trip was Penny's cooking she is a great chef and hosted a meal for myself and some other family members outside with a lit fire which had a lovely homely feel. I would definitely visit Millhills again! :)
Shona Faye, Hamburg

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic weekend, Penny & Sam were amazing hosts. Everything was taken care of and all we had to do was show up, eat, drink and relax, what more could you think of for a weekend away.
Our friends joined us the following day, again Penny and Sam took care of everything.
If you are looking to get away from it all and just enjoy great food and lovely company, then this is your venue! Highly recommend !!
Rebecca

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My two day stay exceeded my expectations. My free standing Lodge was beautifully furnished and the double bed was the best I have encountered on my NZ travels. It was also totally quiet being on a small farm, close to Havelock North and at night the clarity of the stars was amazing. My hosts Sam and Penny were non intrusive, and totally knowledgable on the attractions/wineries in the area.
M.Glenn
Santa Fe, NM

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konstantynowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stunning setting, outstanding hospitality from our hosts Penny & Sam who catered to our every need. We felt welcomed from arrival to departure. You wont be disappointed after staying at Millhills Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

As a group of six we were immediately immersed in the warmth and hospitality of Penny and Sam, who are both charming and accommodating. The facilities are second to none, very clean and well appointed. it took no time to settle in and enjoy the scenery, the pace and the wonderful nibbles that kept coming. Chances are strong that we will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
5.3 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
58 reviews
10.8 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
32 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
26 reviews
6.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
65 reviews
7.2 mi away
No photo provided
Frimley Lodge Motel
#12 of 18 in Hastings
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millhills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millhills Lodge

Address: 358A Mutiny Road | Rd2, Hastings 4172, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: £153 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary country retreat located in the very heart of New Zealand wine country. Only a short journey from Havelock North Village in Hawke’s Bay, Millhills Lodge offers superior accommodation and a unique private venue for smaller weddings, corporate functions, family festivities and reunions. Havelock North Village is now one of Hawke’s Bay’s premier attractions with its boutique shopping, cafe culture and unique atmosphere and with long hot summers and clear blue skies in the middle of winter - no matter whichever time of the year you visit, Hawke’s Bay offers a veritable smorgasbord of wonderful things to do - amazing food, fantastic selection of wines from internationally acclaimed vineyards, Napier’s art-deco architecture, the golden sands of Ocean Beach and Waimarama, the weekly Hastings Farmers Market and the world's largest mainland Gannet colony at Cape Kidnappers adjacent to one of the world’s top 50 golf courses. At Millhills Lodge we offer the discerning traveler a unique respite with quality accommodations and facilities. Your accommodations comprise of 3 stand-alone studio cottages with en-suite, bar fridge, free WI-Fi, complimentary on-demand movie library, beverage making facilities and full use of all lodge facilities including a private guest dining room with north facing guest lounge and open log fire, inner courtyard with open log fire, SKY network flat-screen television and a beautiful outdoor spa area over-looking the adjoining farm land with panoramic views to the ranges and down the plains to the twinkling lights in the evening of Hastings and Napier beyond. Our nightly room rate includes a cooked or continental breakfast and we can also provide casual luncheons, picnic hampers or a truly New Zealand evening feast prepared by our own cook using fresh ingredients produced and sourced right here in Hawke’s Bay. Transportation can be provided to and from Napier Airport to the Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Millhills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing