We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning and pure luxury”
Review of Millhills Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millhills Lodge
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Millhills Lodge in Havelock North is simply stunning and pure luxury. Owned and operated by an awesome couple, Penny and Sam, who are both warm, friendly, fabulous hosts. Penny is a hugely talented chef, providing us with scrummy breakfasts and conjuring up a truly delicious dinner for 10. So much fun! We stayed in Studio accommodation which is immaculately presented, comfortable and included everything we needed. Our Studio faced the cows and hills. In the morning when the sun rose up behind us and shone on the hills, the colours were incredible and so stunning to wake up to. Millhills Lodge is a perfect for a luxury getaway, wedding or a celebration with family and friends. The location is fab (lots of winery's nearby!) and the views all around the the lodge are spectacular. If I sound like I'm giving high praise, that’s good, because this place deserves every word and more! www.millhills.co.nz

Room Tip: All of the accommodation is top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giraffe08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at Millshills in mid March. We initially were going to stay for 2 nights, but enjoyed our stay that much that we stayed an extra night. My husband and I were on a driving holiday of the North Island, and Penny and Sam were able to accommodate us last minute. They were very welcoming when we arrived. The property was located about a beautiful 10 minutes drive from Havelock North, in the scenic country side. We stayed in a cabin which was equivalent to a 5 Star hotel room, which looked out to the massive hill, lit up by the moon at night. We had such peaceful night sleeps. Breakfast was amazing, and filled us up for days of sightseeing. Penny and Sam were able to make reservations to George Restaurant which was great food, but Penny cooked dinner (at an additional cost) for us on the other 2 nights. Penny's cooking was amazing and it was great to eat and drink our bottles of wine we purchased on our winery visits.

We enjoyed Penny and Sam's company. With Sam's strong community involvement he was able to track down 2 of my husbands acquaintances, and both Penny and Sam were able to make many suggestions on the sights and places to visit. It was a sad time when we had to leave, but would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ren_Nath_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights back in March.
From the moment we drove down the tree lined driveway we knew this place was something special.
Penny greeted us and made us feel so very welcome. Then got settled into the chalet that was very well appointed and luxurious. Off to the spa to relax before drinks on the deck.
Dinner was served in the main house and was superb with perfect wines to match.
(We got an email to ask what our taste buds are and what wine we like! so cool)
Breakfast too was excellent.
Plus they organised an excellent wine tour as well.
Both Sam & Penny were hosts with the most and we would recommend Millhills to anyone wanting a relaxing weekend away.
You will be very spoilt.
Thanks heaps Sam & Penny.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stopped at Millhills on the way to Tauranga. The whole stay was excellent and we will definitely be back. The room was very comfortable and we loved the super king bed.
The highlight was definitely the 3 course meal for dinner and the breakfast spread the following morning. Amazing!
Sam and penny are great hosts and I look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pegman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I can't say enough about Millhills Lodge. It was simply superb, combined with hospitality that I will remember forever. Sam & Penny went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable, enjoyable and relaxing as is possible. The food was of the very highest standard and the wine was the very best of the Hawk's Bay vineyards. It was truly a delight waking-up every morning to such lovely rural surroundings. But there absolutely nothing rural about the accommodation - the cottages were as well-appointed and tastefully decorated as I've seen. In fact of all the places around the world we've stayed in, I can honestly say it doesn't get much better than Millhills Lodge.
Mitch Davidson, Glasgow.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our second visit to Millhills Lodge and Sam and Penny once again exceeded all our expectations with their magnificent food, hospitality and stunning accommodation. On this visit, we stayed in one of the Lodge's three luxury studio cottages. Far enough from the Lodge for privacy, close enough to all facilities. Our super king-size bed was fitted with high-thread-count Egyptian cotton sheets, masses of pillows and a scrumptious cotton waffle-covered duvet. The en-suites are beautifully appointed with every imaginable guest amenity and the high-pressure shower is fed with multi-filtered rainwater. Bliss. Fluffy bathrobes and guest slippers are standard fare. Although you dine in the Lodge, each room has refreshment-making facilities with a superb range of teas, plunger coffee from the award-winning local roaster and stocked bar fridge. A new addition this time was the on-demand video library and free WiFi throughout the entire property – perfect for me to keep in touch with my business back in Hong Kong. We love Millhills Lodge. Penny and Sam are the perfect hosts for an exceptional stay in Hawke’s Bay. Highly recommended. The overall experience was first-class in every respect.

Room Tip: The three cottages all face the same way, so there is really no preference. Disabled facilities are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had a had a great time at Millhills, Sam and Penny were fantastic hosts, very accommodating and helpful in located the best vineyards ;) ,the rooms were spacious, comfortable and had all the 'mod cons'. The view from my room (lodge) was beautiful and the hotel is situated just outside a lovely little town called Havelock North. What also made my trip was Penny's cooking she is a great chef and hosted a meal for myself and some other family members outside with a lit fire which had a lovely homely feel. I would definitely visit Millhills again! :)
Shona Faye, Hamburg

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
5.3 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
58 reviews
10.8 mi away
Meadowood Country House
Meadowood Country House
#1 of 2 in Fernhill
32 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
26 reviews
6.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
65 reviews
7.2 mi away
No photo provided
Frimley Lodge Motel
#12 of 18 in Hastings
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millhills Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millhills Lodge

Address: 358A Mutiny Road | Rd2, Hastings 4172, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Hastings
Price Range: £153 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary country retreat located in the very heart of New Zealand wine country. Only a short journey from Havelock North Village in Hawke’s Bay, Millhills Lodge offers superior accommodation and a unique private venue for smaller weddings, corporate functions, family festivities and reunions. Havelock North Village is now one of Hawke’s Bay’s premier attractions with its boutique shopping, cafe culture and unique atmosphere and with long hot summers and clear blue skies in the middle of winter - no matter whichever time of the year you visit, Hawke’s Bay offers a veritable smorgasbord of wonderful things to do - amazing food, fantastic selection of wines from internationally acclaimed vineyards, Napier’s art-deco architecture, the golden sands of Ocean Beach and Waimarama, the weekly Hastings Farmers Market and the world's largest mainland Gannet colony at Cape Kidnappers adjacent to one of the world’s top 50 golf courses. At Millhills Lodge we offer the discerning traveler a unique respite with quality accommodations and facilities. Your accommodations comprise of 3 stand-alone studio cottages with en-suite, bar fridge, free WI-Fi, complimentary on-demand movie library, beverage making facilities and full use of all lodge facilities including a private guest dining room with north facing guest lounge and open log fire, inner courtyard with open log fire, SKY network flat-screen television and a beautiful outdoor spa area over-looking the adjoining farm land with panoramic views to the ranges and down the plains to the twinkling lights in the evening of Hastings and Napier beyond. Our nightly room rate includes a cooked or continental breakfast and we can also provide casual luncheons, picnic hampers or a truly New Zealand evening feast prepared by our own cook using fresh ingredients produced and sourced right here in Hawke’s Bay. Transportation can be provided to and from Napier Airport to the Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Millhills Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing