We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth considering”
Review of The Magpie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Magpie
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
1 review
“Worth considering”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here recently and found it to be great value for the money. Both rooms were clean and well presented for there age. Hosts made us welcome and location was great. Will stay again and recommend to others. John L (Hamilton)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We love seeing you when you come down to Hastings. We are so glad you shared your experience. Thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Don't think I was sleeping on clean sheets when I stayed here. That or the washing machine doesn't remove hair in the wash cycle. Motel was otherwise tidy and clean for an old place and it had a pool and a nice outdoor area. Despite being right on a main road it wasn't too noisy and location is OK. Check for specials as I wouldn't want to pay full price. Stay only if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
I would like to assure the public that we wash our sheets and take pride in the cleanliness of our motel. We take great care to present and prepare all our spaces for guests enjoyment. We have also updated many beds since we took over ownership.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My Hubby and I are always going for reasonable places to stay but the comfort, and we came across the Magpie Motel. We were made to feel so welcome. Good location for getting out and about. We wanted to go to the RSA and join in there, and was nice and close. Had a lot of positives for us. We will definitely go back and recommend it to everyone to try.
We went for a drive to Havelock North and went to one of the beaches out from there and it was lovely. Remote and peaceful. We could do a trip to Napier as well so handy. Very handy spot.

Room Tip: It needs to be handy to amenities for basic needs, easy access, rooms on the left hand side are in b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Manager at The Magpie, responded to this review, 13 November 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This motel on main hwy in Hastings but traffic noise was minimal. Room was clean but an older style establishment but room had well equipped kitchenette. Bathroom a little small but still ok and separate toilet. Bed was comfy but pillows were shockers - hard as a rock! Wi-fi access was a bonus too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa L, Owner at The Magpie, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to let others know how we have a great place to stay. Your review was really appreciated and we have made sure there is a bigger variety of pillows since your stay to make everyone comfy. Thanks very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
0.1 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hastings Top 10 Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clansman Motor Lodge
Clansman Motor Lodge
#10 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magpie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magpie

Property: The Magpie
Address: 1122 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magpie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magpie Motel is a small motel that prides itself as being at the heart of the Hastings/Hawkes Bay area. Close to CBD, close to restaurants, tourist activites, beaches and outdoor areas. Great value for money. We offer Ensuite units, one bedroom, family room and studios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Magpie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing