We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average, nothing out of the ordinary.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Amici Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amici Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just average, nothing out of the ordinary.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed for just one night, the rooms was ok, bathroom not clean enough for the price we payed. The place is quiet and beds are comfortable, it has a pool but we didnt use it. There are newer rooms but we stayed in the older ones.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeoAngelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Sorry you chose to stay in the budget units and not the nice executive ones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    55
    20
    13
    11
See reviews for
67
42
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Amici motel for three nights recently and were more than happy with our accommodation. Our room was very comfortably furnished, very spacious and spotlessly clean, as was the en-suite. The owners were also very welcoming and pleasant. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice m, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank You for your review. We would love to have you back again as you were also great guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in late December. The executive studio rooms are very well renovated and are like any modern hotel room. These rooms are a bit less like the traditional motel rooms because they don't really have cooking facilities (only microwave and toaster) and no table and chairs, so it isn't really easy to dine in. Wi-fi coupons are available from reception but they are so limited in download capacity and expire very quickly, it is a bit of a hassle to get further coupons and type in the complicated passwords. The location is ok for exploring the region by car, but there isn't really much of interest within easy walking distance. The owners were very friendly and helpful when were checking in. There is an outdoor cold pool, and it looked like there had been a spa pool but it was boarded up - a shame because it wasn't really warm enough for a swim but would have been nice to have a spa. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Pick the newly renovated executive rooms if you want modern, but if you need cooking facilities chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice M, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank You for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

My husband & I stayed recently at Amici Motel. The room was very tidy and well serviced. However, the experience was extremely disappointing.

The first night we were woken just after midnight by drunk patrons walking around outside, drinking on the grassed area. This went on for over 1/2 an hour before I rang reception on my own cellphone. There was no phone in our room.

On the second morning I had an accident falling out of the shower, deeply cutting my leg. There was no phone in our room to call for first aid assistance. When my husband went to reception to get a first aid kit, the response was "I've never had to use this before". Which indicates there is no certified First Aider onsite and there was no incident report completed. There was no offer to help my husband and there was no further support received after the first aid was given by my husband.

We are absolutely disgusted that there was no support and extremely disappointed by the whole experience.

We would not recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice M, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
When you booked I explained we had one room left from a cancellation from a wedding party so you were forewarned about the guests we had staying. We are very sorry you fell over in the shower, our manager supplied you with guaze and tape etc and offered more help. Your husband said he would take you to the hospital and so we were not required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We had a bad experience at another motel after one night and decided to look for another place to stay for the rest of our holiday in the Hawkes Bay. Evan and the team at Amici were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and the room we had was very nice. The location was great also. I would definitely stay there if I get another opportunity to visit Hastings. I definitely recommend Amici.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank muddles69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice M, Owner at Amici Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks guys was great to have you stay. Would love to have you stay with us again when you are in the Bay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the refurbished King Bed room & it was excellent & a brilliant find for a Motel. When one thinks of motel rooms you always imagine old & tired but this was not the case at all.
The room was very spacious, had two enormous chairs & a little table to sit or work at, the bed was a true King Bed (& not a Queen pretending to be a King) & it was extremely comfortable, a good size TV situated right in front of the bed, good wardrobe with iron & board, a kettle with decent coffee & tea & the bathroom was brilliant! The toilet had one of those amazing seats that goes down by itself & I so want too! The shower, basin & mirror were great & you could definitely swing a dozen cats in there! The only negative I have was the towels were those horrible motel size white postage stamps motels insist on using & some were even getting a tad threadbare which was so disappointing for such an amazing bathroom!
The motel even though situated on a busy road was actually very quiet so sleep quality was very good.
Having just stayed in lots of motels & B & B's on this trip the price for this motel ($125 a night I think) was excellent & was the cheapest place we had stayed in & to me brilliant value for money & I would not hesitate to recommend these refurbished rooms to anyone & I cannot see how anyone could complain on this price for such a great room.
We will definitely not stay anywhere else now so we will for sure be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice m, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
great, thanx for your feedback. Honest brickbats and of course bouquets, are always welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was drawn to the site by the images and booked a Studio Room at $105 per night. This wasn't to save money so much as because all I needed was a clean average room with basic services and it is only a few dollars cheaper than a fully serviced modern (but characterless) unit at the innercity Portman Motor Lodge. The room was clean but depressing. It was in desperate need of an upgrade, had no iron or ironing board, flaking paint etc.

The refurbished rooms look good and it is a big complex so I understand that the owners need to work through a refurbishment programme but in its current condition this room is worth about $90. At $105 you can definitely do better in terms of quality and location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Watch587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice m, Manager at Amici Motel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
A bit of flattery from the opposition! Thanks for pointing out that we are a work in progress and as with a property of this size, there are a lot of options for the guests. Also we always welcome a room inspection for those of you who struggle with web sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.5 mi away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
7.5 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amici Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amici Motel

Property: Amici Motel
Address: 207 Pakowhai Road | Stortford Lodge/Frimley, Hastings 4120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amici Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amici is a new motel business which has recently seen a refurbishment in our Executive Studios and Executive 2 bedrooms. Also new furniture thru the rest of the property. We have executive, family thru to the more compact budget rooms available for your stay. A garden setting provides a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. Close to wineries, bike trails, city centre, Hawkes Bay Hospital, Lindisfarne College and all that Hawkes Bay has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amici Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing