We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than very good !”
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Ranked #17 of 86 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than very good !”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An excellent Thai resturant serving great Thai food , great service by helpful staff.
If you enjoy Thai food as we do , dont miss out on this resturant.The atmosphere is most pleasant.
Also available is a great range of take away food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank accord24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    20
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great food, lovely atmosphere and excellent service. I popped in for a takeaway meal and was met by friendly and efficient staff and didn't need to wait long before my meal was ready. Presented beautifully and tasted amazing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 142amandaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Pleasant decor, extensive menu and tasty food. Good value for money. Will remember the Thai Orchid if we come to Napier again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good/true thai flavour”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Food was very good, taste wise authentic thai... Living in south east asia i can vouch for the flavour. Open much later than other regular places, we left at midnight and it was still open...
Nice ambience, overly thai decorated.. :)

Only negative was way too many vegi's in meat/seafood dishes. There was 65% vegi stuff in any seafood or meat dish we ordered.
But again taste good.
Would give 4.5/5 overall.

Helpful?
Thank pramodhk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Thai in Hastings”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Chose this Restaurant based onTrip Advisor, we were not disappointed. Food was excellent, menu choices were varied. Restaurant was busy, and a bit noisy. Our order was taken promptly and the first course was delivered, but the drinks we had ordered were particularly slow in coming.
As I said the food was really excellent, just needed some more staff.
Would certainly go to this restaurant again.
Cost was $75 for 2 entrees, 2 mains & 2 drinks.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing