We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful honeymoon stay”
Review of The Manse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Manse
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This really is a rare gem. My husband and I stayed at the Manse as part of our honeymoon and this was a clear highlight. Everything was exceptional from the warm welcome and hospitality, to the beautifully appointed room and delicious food. Many of the ingredients are grown / reared on the property and you could taste the difference, especially in Gary's expert hands! As part of our stay, Gary and Dietske also helped to organise several trips including a surprise for my husband to Cape Kidnappers golf course for a pro lesson and round with Gary. We flew by helicopter directly from the property which was amazing and Stephen has been raving about his lesson ever since! I'd have no hesitation in recommending The Manse to friends and family.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Both Dietske and Gary are excellent hosts and I really enjoyed my stay even though it was only for one night.

A very spacious lodge with its own farm and vege gardens.

All very nice and neat inside with very comfortable rooms and antique furnitures. The guest wing is seperate from the hosts'

Gary was an ex golf coach for many years in Europe, they truely understand 5 star hospitality

Breakfast was amazing sets you up for the day .
Highly recommended if you are Hawkes Bay.Thanks to you both

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Manse. Kind regards, Gary & Dietske.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank prvakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sagrantino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank muemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Riverview Zimmer ist genial!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mick768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vraag absoluut naar de River View Suite, een heerlijke kamer met een geweldig uitzicht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia-en-Rudolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.7 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
58 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
250 reviews
19.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
19.6 mi away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
926 reviews
19.2 mi away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse

Address: 3519 State Highway 50 | Rd 1, Hastings 4171, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £249 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse is one of the original Hawke’s Bay homes being built for the local vicar in 1910 and subsequently moved onto its present site which enjoys dramatic views across the Heretaunga Plains. More recently, the homes facilities have been fully modernised to allow guests to do as little or much as they wish to.An exclusive country retreat where each guests experience can be fully tailored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Manse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing