We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place to Stay”
Review of The Manse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Manse
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Well, we have just had the most wonderful long weekend staying at the Manse. We wanted somewhere special and this gorgeous place exceeded all our expectations.

Gary and Dietske were great hosts, nothing was problem. We were very spolit by their hospitality. Gary was a fabulous chef. We wanted to take them both home with us!

The Manse lodge and surrounding farmland is spectacular. This is definitely deserving of a luxury lodge with a 5 start rating.

I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank craig_tanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you! We forgot to give you the Quince, sorry. Hopefully we can do that next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was a maginificent facility, with charming and efficient hosts who made us completely comfortable. While there are few guest rooms, it has ever amenity and the feeling that you are truly welcome. There was no request as to food, diet, or timing that was not met with warmth and charm.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It can only be a matter of time before The Manse will simply be booked out so get there now! This really is a very special place. You have to like being away from it all . About 20 mins from Hastings on top of a hill with stunning views this 2 bed guest house is difficult to fault. Gary worked in Holland in a Michelin starred restaurant. Do not even contemplate eating anywhere else. I am a committed vegetarian but I have to respect the fact that all the meat produced is reared and killed on site . Free range eggs and some nice home grown organic vegetables as well! Gary was also on the pro golf circuit and is always available for lessons. The rooms , all 2 of them, are beautifully arranged and if you are into Whisky or cigars Gary is an avid collector! At last count there were 82 different whiskies.
And everything is bought together by Gary's wife Dietske who manages the lodge like a well oiled machine adding those little touches which makes your stay go beyond the special.
I am very fortunate to have travelled all over the world and I can safely say The Manse is up there with the best there is.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Our 4 nights stay at The Manse with Gary and Dietske was truly spectacular and was one of the highlights during our New Zealand tour. Gary and Dietske are gracious and fabulous hosts, with the most spectacular property with breathtaking views. Everything about their Luxury Lodge is 5 stars and more. We experienced everything to the fullest during our stay with them.

Some highlights:
Food: Wow, wow, wow. First and foremost, Gary is a trained chef who makes the most incredibly delicious gourmet feasts! And Dietske is a gifted baker! Be prepared to eat like you're royalty and you'll love every minute of it!! Breakfast and afternoon snacks/cocktails were served to us every day and included in our stay, consisting of the freshest ingredients from their personal gardens and farm animals, as well as all locally sourced foods. In the mornings, Gary walked the farm with our kids, and one of the many highlights for us was eating poached eggs that our 9 year old collected with Gary from their personal chickens. During the day after exploring around the area, we’d just walk the grounds at The Manse and eat fresh fruits right off their plentiful trees (figs, plums, peaches, apples, etc). It’s hard not to be envious of this type of luxurious, fresh, healthy living!! For dinners, we asked Gary to cook 3 out of 4 nights for us (and we wish we had done 4!). Each dinner was 3 or more courses, consisting of the freshest ingredients, again sourced by them or locally, and then paired with local vineyard wines selected personally by Gary, who truly knows his wines! We are now HUGE fans of New Zealand wines (and beers!!!).
Activities: When we weren’t touring around the area doing wonderful outings arranged by Dietske (farmers markets, historical tours, Art Deco tours, etc.), we stayed on the grounds of the Luxury Lodge and had fun with the activities provided by Gary. We experienced fun activities like touring their beautiful grounds eating fresh fruits right off the trees, drinking water streaming from the mountain spring, meeting and feeding animals (chickens, pigs, cows and sheep), fishing by the river, Jeep rides and our highlight, learning how to target and clay pigeon shoot!
Luxury Lodge accommodations: The house and grounds are impeccably maintained, beautifully decorated and truly a 5 stars luxury lodge. It’s warm, inviting and you never want to leave.
Hosts: Gary and Dietske are fabulous hosts, professional, warm and friendly. We were sad to leave but made friends for life and will be back again (and HIGHLY recommend The Manse as the MUST STAY place in New Zealand!).
Note: attaching lots of pictures from our stay with them!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hess02025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This really is a rare gem. My husband and I stayed at the Manse as part of our honeymoon and this was a clear highlight. Everything was exceptional from the warm welcome and hospitality, to the beautifully appointed room and delicious food. Many of the ingredients are grown / reared on the property and you could taste the difference, especially in Gary's expert hands! As part of our stay, Gary and Dietske also helped to organise several trips including a surprise for my husband to Cape Kidnappers golf course for a pro lesson and round with Gary. We flew by helicopter directly from the property which was amazing and Stephen has been raving about his lesson ever since! I'd have no hesitation in recommending The Manse to friends and family.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Both Dietske and Gary are excellent hosts and I really enjoyed my stay even though it was only for one night.

A very spacious lodge with its own farm and vege gardens.

All very nice and neat inside with very comfortable rooms and antique furnitures. The guest wing is seperate from the hosts'

Gary was an ex golf coach for many years in Europe, they truely understand 5 star hospitality

Breakfast was amazing sets you up for the day .
Highly recommended if you are Hawkes Bay.Thanks to you both

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Manse. Kind regards, Gary & Dietske.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank prvakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
5.8 mi away
Greenhill Lodge
Greenhill Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
57 reviews
14.9 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
247 reviews
19.6 mi away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel Napier
19.3 mi away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 47 in Napier
580 reviews
19.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 47 in Napier
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manse

Address: 3519 State Highway 50 | RD 1, Hastings 4171, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £256 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manse 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manse is one of the original Hawke’s Bay homes being built for the local vicar in 1910 and subsequently moved onto its present site which enjoys dramatic views across the Heretaunga Plains. More recently, the homes facilities have been fully modernised to allow guests to do as little or much as they wish to.An exclusive country retreat where each guests experience can be fully tailored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your The Manse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing