We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay”
Review of Valdez Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Valdez Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Just returned from New Zealand, and have to say a big thank you to the Valdez Motor Lodge for their service. Great value for money, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent location for the Hawkes Bay Vineyards, and within an easy drive to Napier. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Our family have just returned from the Hawkes Bay where we stayed at the Valdez for four nights. The Valdez and its staff are friendly and accommodating, it's clean and best of all the pool is a great way to cool down after a day out in the beautiful Hawkes Bay sun. Would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have travelled to quite a few countries around the world and I must say that Valdez service and accommodation is right up there with the best. We were booked in for two nights but were so impressed stayed another two.The owners were well informed about the tourist spots and the rooms were clean and serviced everyday. Well done, will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My family of two adults and three children were booked in for two nights, during our stay we had outstanding service and the rooms were spotless. Both days our children were playing happily in the pool. We had excellent service from the staff and owners who went over and beyond the call of duty, advising us of tourist spots and good local restaurants suitable for us and the children. We will definitely be returning for another family holiday.

Room Tip: The corner suites were very spacious, quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haami J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were very impressed with the standard set by the Valdez. The room was very large, for a studio bedroom, and the cleaners there do a fabulous job. The bedroom was very clean, as was the bathroom and kitchen area. There was all the equipment we needed and we enjoyed our own patio area. The owners or managers, not sure which, were helpful, even making a phone call to get me further informatiion re a tourist spot we wanted to visit. We would be more than happy to return here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed at the Valdez over labour weekend and were extremely impressed with the accommodation. The room was huge, had a well equipped kitchenette, a huge spa bath and a nice private patio area. The rooms were cleaned daily and were spotless. This place is great value for money for accommodation in a central location. I would stay here again any time and would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were at the Valdez today for a one day Conference, very impressed.
The venue was comfortable and perfect for a small or medium sized group to interact and learn. There was no road noise or any other interruptions .
Food, both lunch and afternoon tea was excellent. High quality, home cooked and so very fresh. Well done, not a curled sandwich in sight!.
After conference cheese platter was exceptional, beautifully presented and an unexpected, wonderful surprise.

Anyone looking for a conference venue in the Hawkes Bay should put the Valdez on top of their list.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hastings hotels
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#4 of 18 in Hastings
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
27 reviews
1.2 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cumberland Court Motel
Cumberland Court Motel
#9 of 18 in Hastings
53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Omahu Motor Lodge
Omahu Motor Lodge
#10 of 18 in Hastings
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdez Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdez Motor Lodge

Address: 1107 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valdez Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valdez Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing