We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Valdez Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Valdez Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

We were 1 of 2 couples that stayed here for 3 nights so we could enjoy some golf in Hawkes Bay. The motel was great, the unit very roomy and quiet. The owners were very obliging. We'll stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
29
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I loved the Valdez. The facilities were clean and quiet, there was heaps of privacy - including my own courtyard. The staff were friendly and really understanding and the service was excellent.

The location is close to town, and everything I needed was right there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katjnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Wounderfull friendly staff extremly clean " amaculate grounds we stayed in a family suite with friends and we really enjoyed our stay at valdez I would highly reccomed anybody to this motel and will definatly be returning again thankyou violet from auckland

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyliebutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Thank you to the Manager at the Valdez Motor Lodge who through his kindness and the caring saved me from a living hell!! I had unwittingly booked into the most horrendous hotel in Hastings - The Angus - A hell hole that has to be seen to believed.
I was directed by a kind lady to the Valdez. What a perfect paradise, cleanliness second to none, all conveniences needed for a relaxing bath, the most comfortable bed, private outdoor space, and for me free wifi with more than adequate download to allow me to study online - thank you thank you thank you.
When you travel , and are in need of the perfect place to stay that has creature comforts, security and nearby amenities such as the friendly H & H hotel and the Indian restaurant just meters away - this is value for money that you cannot go past.
Regards and many thanks for such kindness
Jackie

Room Tip: There is absolutely nothing that I can say that is not good, the parking is right outside the door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Came here for a conference and intially chose it for close proximity. The owners were really helpful, the rooms were nice and quiet, and well off the road. This was especially handy since there were roadworks right outside! We didn't hear a thing.

Rooms were HUGE for the price, perfect for self-catering and very warm. Room was heated with a heat pump. There were electric blankets as well.

Spa bath was a nice added touch! We were happily surprised with how nice the room was for the price, and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_wanderer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the night as we travelled south back to Dunedin. Such a lovely place way down the back away from the road Nd it was so peaceful. Room was spotless Nd tidy and everything worked well. The only let down was the heated towel rail failed to work. The beds where nice and comfortable Nd we slept well. Was nice to find free biscuit Nd stuff with tea Nd coffee Nd the grounds where we'll maintained. Our host was bloody great. Will be back again someday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim_Devaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This was an excellent place to stay - the room was lovely and warm, the beds were comfortable, and the facilities were excellent too.

The owners of this motel were very helpful, understanding and lovely to talk to. The staff were excellent and always had a smile on there face. The service of our room was outstanding.

There is not much more than i can say except that i greatly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for accommodation in Hawkes Bay, NZ. and also I would like to say a very big big thank you to the owners for their great hospitality.

SP Perth, Australia

Room Tip: look at the reviews others have placed on the internet before you book into a motel/hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonP954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdezMotorLodge, Owner at Valdez Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Hope the rest of you holiday was good.
We hope to see you anothe day. We have had rain but it is dring out again
Regards Warwick & Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Magpie
The Magpie
#9 of 18 in Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
9.9 mi away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdez Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdez Motor Lodge

Property: Valdez Motor Lodge
Address: 1107 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Valdez Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Valdez Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing