We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great 2 nights stay”
Review of Valdez Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valdez Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Arriving towards Hastings we were informed that the Art Deco Festival was on and that accommodation would be difficult. The Site office helped us find Valdez Motor Lodge which was the perfect base for our time here. Warwick and Judy were wonderful hosts and made sure our stay was enjoyable. The rooms are clean and spacious with well equipped kitchenette and a nice addition is a courtyard, we enjoyed our breakfast and dinners sitting here. A great find and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsManning585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for Valdez Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

I rencetly arrived back again at a rather late Saturday afternoon. Judy was there to help and organise my requirements including restuarants, internet connection, marked on the map. When I arrived the shop on foot, the door had already a "closed" sign on. When I turned back empty handed, suddenly I felt very hungry. But lo behold! I saw Judy walking to me! I could hardly believe my eyes. Then she drove me to another place where I was able to get what I wanted. I do not think there are many hosts to go to this way to look after their guests. My big thank-you from my bottom of the heart to Judy and Warwick. Next time I organise my arrival much earlier to have a good dip in the pool for relaxing my stiff neck.
I would strongly recommend to anyone travelling to Hastings/Havelock North/Naipier the Valdez!
Humi Tremayne

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hisamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

As a business traveller I get to stay in many hotels and motels and, in my opinion, the Valdez is up there with the best. The staff are always obliging and helpful, the rooms are clean and very spacious and the location is perfect.

For anyone travelling to Hastings I would recommend staying at the Valdez!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are set back from the road and thus very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdezMotorLodge, Owner at Valdez Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A group of us travel away annually & have done so for 23 years & this years trip took us to Hastings. Our accommodation was arranged by a friend so we hadn't bothered looking at previous reviews and this was a lesson learned as we will no longer make bookings without checking the place out first! On arrival, the person at reception, who I assume was the manager wasn't welcoming at all! She was rude to our group & then when she saw that we had a child in our group, she said "oh do you have a child staying, well we haven't made arrangements for that" I suggested that she sort the rest of the group out & that I would see what needed to be done, but she snapped at me saying "we will need to move you as there is no room in the unit for the child". This left our 8 year old upset & repeating what he'd just heard. I did consider staying somewhere else, but in the 23 years of travelling away we always stay together, so I decided to stay. We were advised that the cleaners would be in the rooms at 9.30am & if you didn't want your bed made then you should leave clothes or belongings on the bed so the cleaners would know to leave it alone. We then decided that rather than relaxing we would go out as no- one particularly wanted to hang around the motel after such a bad reception. Day 2 saw one of our group receiving a call from reception to state that the cleaners had advised her that they believed fish had been cooked in the room & that there was a notice on the wall hanging next to the oven which states that we weren't permitted to cook offensive smelling foods in our rooms & that on this occasion we wouldn't be charged the $150 it would cost to deodorise the room, as this is a 5 star motel. We apologised & also stated that the sign wasn't clear. In one room when one of our group got a chopping board out whilst the cleaner was there, a cockroach crawled out, he advised the cleaner & was told to use the flyspray provided & in another room there was mould on the curtains, which seemed shouldn't be the case for a 5 star motel. On the 3rd morning I returned to my room to find the cleaner re- making the bed, which had clothes on it, which needed to be moved in order for the bed to be made. I pointed this out to the cleaner & she responded by saying that as a 5 star motel they are required to make the beds, I told her that I wasn't happy that our things were moved as we were told that they wouldn't be, I then asked her not to touch anything else in the room. I know that Hastings is looking at hosting the National Kapa Haka competition & I will advise the networks I have, not to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ValdezMotorLodge, Owner at Valdez Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Cheryl we are sorry your stay at the Valdez Motor Lodge was unhappy as our aim is to please our customers.
We advised your group that our cleaners would be starting work at 9.30am to help with their stay.
It is our policy to change all bed linen every 3 days if the customer is staying 4 or more days, we are sorry this upset you as we were refreshing your room.
As we have a sign on the wall and in the compendium asking you not to cook seafood, I rang you and asked you not to cook fish again.
We have a ongoing bug spraying policy but unfortunately on the odd occasion one may beat us.
We wish to say sorry once again as it was never our intension to upset any of your group.
Warwick & Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a studio unit, and like other reviewers found it to be very good - spacious, clean and quiet. The only negative for us (may not bother others) was that it was dark inside and the little private outdoor courtyard needed 'refreshing' - so it was not conducive to sitting outside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boydies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Lovely accommodation over two floors so main bedroom was upstairs with windows on either side allowing air to flow through on a very hot day. Very pleasant service. Sorry to have only stayed for one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've been staying at Valdez for several years, and frankly wouldn't bother to look elsewhere. The rooms are excellent (much bigger than average) and the quietness is great.
Staff are friendly and obliging, and the setting is great.

To me Valdez is my home away from home.

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you need and they'll sort you out.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomarse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
12.9 mi away
The Manse
The Manse
#1 of 18 in Hastings
79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
246 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairmont Motor Lodge
Fairmont Motor Lodge
#8 of 18 in Hastings
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdez Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdez Motor Lodge

Address: 1107 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £75 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valdez Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valdez Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing