We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWFUL HOSTS!”
Review of Valdez Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Valdez Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My family and friends in total had 8 rooms staying from 1 to 4 days at the Valdez. We had 3 family members come to visit us as we were there for an unveiling and the hosts kept being nosey and ringing our room because we all gathered in the one room. We were quiet and courteous of the other guests in the motel and thought they totally over reacted. Maybe they're racist against Maori? I don't know but we will never stay there again and do not recommend them to anyone! We sent alot of business/money there way and were appalled at the service. Thumbs down to the hosts at Valdez Hastings!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beeza879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2010

To put it in perspective it was 24 C, sisters-in-law in the pool, hubby with salmon on the grill (no extra charges) an outdoor eating area ... just like the comforts of a BBQ at the pool at home. We had a tough time again finding a place from the travel office. Knew we found the right place at less cost than the T-ofc and the owners were so very friendly. Thank goodness we had the Host Accommodation book to guide us to this place. From here we used that book & word-of-mouth from the hotel owners to find our next place to stay. Highly recommend this place if you want to do some wine tasting around Hastings.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulmates60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed one night here, in a studio with it's own private courtyard. The studio was spacious, clean, updated and quiet. The grounds are huge so the units are set back from the busy road.
The gardens are well cared for and there is decent sized swimming pool. But, best of all the owners were extremely friendly and lovely to deal with. The price paid was reasonable.
This will be our first choice on our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Well maintained and equipped, comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Affordable base for seeing sights of Napier and Hawkes Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed at this motor lodge twice - the first time in Dec 2006, over Xmas, we had come to them from a really grungy motel. The Valdez didn't have a spare room that night so set us up in the conference room for the first night! Excellent! The second night we had a nice unit with spa bath for a reasonable price. We came back this year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KermitWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Valdez with our young baby for a weekend. It was rather busy with a large concert in town and the motel was fully booked. The owners were wonderful. Although they seemed to be rushed off their feet, nothing was too much trouble. Travelling with a baby required a large amount of luggage and we were relieved to know that they had a port-a-cot that we could borrow - one less thing to pack! The cot was almost new and very clean. Our room (a studio) was large compared to others we have stayed in. It was really clean and the spa bath was blissful. Although it was a busy weekend, our hosts had managed to put us in a unit that was really quiet although I think they are all pretty quiet. There was no road noise and we barely had any noise from other guests. On the couple of occasions that inconsiderate guests parked in our spot, there was plenty of space at the top of the complex. Our hosts had great local knowledge and helped us choose a restaurant and they booked a table for us! They suggested a couple of vineyards that we should visit on the Saturday which were great and had lovely cafes.
We really enjoyed our weekend in the Bay and have already booked another weekend at this lovely hotel. Judy and Warwick, you were fabulous and we can’t wait to be back. Thanks for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PukekoheTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We checked in to this motel with the welcome of 'Check out is at 10am, not a minute later' - wasn't sure this was the best start to the hotel or our weekend away. We were then told quite curtly that we couldn't park two cars in front of the unit despite us having no intention of doing so.
We asked the managers if they would mind booking a taxi for us for dinner later that night but were told that we could 'do that ourselves and the 0800 number was on the phone in the unit'. When I tried to call, the number gave a disconnected tone so we dialled the local number instead.
Each time we went back to the reception for maps or information, we felt like we were interrupting and had chosen the wrong places to eat/visit etc.
The unit itself was fine - spacious enough for a group and fitted out well with all the utensils that you need.
Our bathroom door didn't close, even with the lock on the door, and the shower ran boiling hot then freezing cold the whole time we were there.
When we went to check out, we were then charged 50c for the phone call to call the taxi!! I didn't mind paying that but we explained that the 0800 number written on the phone in the unit only gave a disconnect tone and were told that the taxi company turned 'off' their 0800 number late in the day!? We had called at 3pm!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWizMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
2.0 mi away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
247 reviews
2.6 mi away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Claremonte Motor Lodge
Claremonte Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Hastings
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Magpie Motel
The Magpie Motel
#7 of 18 in Hastings
26 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cumberland Court Motel
Cumberland Court Motel
#10 of 18 in Hastings
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valdez Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valdez Motor Lodge

Address: 1107 Karamu Road North, Hastings 4122, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Hastings
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: £80 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valdez Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Valdez Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing