We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mad Cow”
Review of Corn & Cow - CLOSED

Corn & Cow
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mad Cow”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Wow!!! What a huge disappointment, Actually the worst meal I have ever had and a restaurant. First we were told the chief was having a bad night so could we wait to order, then when we finally ordered our food it sat on top of the pass for 10 mins while the staff chatted and had a laugh with each other. When the food finally got to us it was luke warm at best and some was under cooked. When we brought this to there attention we were told the chief was having a bad night, UMMMMM the chief is supposed to be professional to he needs to get over himself and take some pride in what he puts on the plate. So I would never go back and my advice is if you want to be disappointed then give this place a whirl. The only positive was we got our money back and know one got sick!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a poor experience”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What an experience, we ordered lamb the first plate come out and it looked good quantities were good the lamb looked about the size they advertised 300 grams. It was a shame the same order was placed at the same table. The next plate come out it was less than half the size, that was not a problem. It was when we pointed it out to the chef and they said it was just cut differently Ha Ha. They did not give a ----. no offer to replace or exchange the meal for another.
The taste of the meal was fine it was the service they offered.
Would not recommend for others to attend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simmonds_family800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Has gone downhill, realise the business is in financial trouble (local newspaper) but with the quality of the Burger meal I had for lunch it continues to slip.
I can onlt desxribe teh burger as a Sloppy Joe (cheap and cheerful summer camp food I experienced in the U.S. worth the $15 charge...Not,
The service was Average + and if it had been backed up with good food I would be back.
Decor same old. Where's Gordon Ramsey when you need him ?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland,
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We thought the Corn Exchange pretty good value.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Welcome stopover after long drive from Wellington although it was the Saturday between Xmas and New Year so for a pub restaurant pleasantly quiet. Good value - $83 for 2 mains, salad & 3 drinks. Staff pleasant. Menu small but interesting - rabbit was one choice & not a hamburger in sight! Varied drinks list with fair prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EDEBAuckland_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good solid food”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stopped in for an early lunch with the family as a break from wine tasting. Had the platter and pork sliders. Delicious, freshly cooked and the platter was more than enough for two. Friendly, attentive service. Son had the steak sandwich which he tucked into happily pronouncing it to be good.
Worth visiting.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnutnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Corn & Cow also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing