We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap hotel with character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
nofixedabode
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good cheap hotel with character”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed in the Bodrum Room - which is a reasonably-sized room with en-suite. Hotel is very clean and well-decorated. There is off-street car parking. The staff were very friendly and quite helpful - like a family hotel. The hotel is away from Remuera Road and so quiet. The walls are old and thin and could hear someone snoring - was he in the next room, or two rooms away!! All in all, very enjoyable and well-priced. Bed was pretty good.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nofixedadobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    27
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
9
31
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I had noted the disappointing reviews on the Devereux's website and decided to check out for myself as I have often walked past this hotel for many years, but not entered into the grounds. I returned from a 6 month vacation on the Gold Coast New Years eve, and needed to acquire local accommodation close to my teenage daughters school. When I entered the hotel, I was greeted by the most charming chinese family who had difficulty with the english language, but did their best to accommodate my daughter and I in one of their finest rooms - whereby I have comfortably stayed for the past 6 weeks. The hotel is a little "tired" , but clean and cared for and appears to be slowly coming back to life with the many guests who are now staying there. I love the "secret garden" off the conservatory, and the new "kiwi" manager has created some really nice changes around the property and inside the house. We had guests staying from all over the world which was really lovely as there is a home away from home feel which takes away the impersonal stays from the hotel/motel accommodation. Not for this girl thanks! I was sad to finish my stay, but will certainly look forward to returning soon to enjoy all the new facilities that will be available I believe in the very near future. All the best to the Jiang family for being so caring and welcoming, and I wish the delightful new lady host all the best with her new role. (and I can't wait to enjoy one of the "breakfast at Tiffany" morning teas I understand will be available soon. Thanks Devereux from Claudia and Petra.

Room Tip: If you want the cheapest room - ask for the Bodrum - gorgeous little window seat but quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetraNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Very basic thought it might be ok for the price but was wrong. Rooms are basic but ok, service was all gone staff could not be bothered with me and I felt like I was in the way.

Won't be back, but will try another hotel in the next few week but not this !!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maree j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Remuera hotels

New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I had to come to Auckland for work last week, and being school holidays everything was so expensive, so stumbled across this place on Wotif. The rooms have a rack rate of $250, so thought it can’t have been too bad. Now I don’t want to give this place a terrible review….. but if you were paying in the two hundreds for this place I would be feeling rather ripped off about now.

Let’s start with the positives – it is in a great location(well for me), central Remuera and close to the motorway. Free car parking, and the rooms are back off the road, so limited road noise.

When I drive up, my immediate reaction was that this place needed some work, the outdoors really needs some attention. When I arrived at reception it was closed, and the mobile numbers at the desk when straight to voicemail, so it took a couple of attempts to get someone.

My room was ok, as I said I would have been very disappointed for $250 as it is certainly not worth that. Room was tiny, with a double bed, small fridge and a small ensuite. The bathroom spelt rather damp.

Bed comfort was ok, but nothing to write home about.

For me the negatives were – room was freezing cold, I had the heater on full the whole time I was in the room (including throughout the night), and it still didn’t seem to get that warm, walls are paper thin, staff although tried to be friendly, English was a second language for the guys who served me, so took a long time to explain what I wanted, lastly although the room was clean (bathroom, sheets etc), it was all the little things like dusting, cobwebs etc that had not been done that bothered me.

Overall I don’t think I would stay here again, just for the fact that the rooms were so cold, and the fact that they would even try and charge $250 for the room.

This place with a little love and time could be awesome, but at the moment it just isn't there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waikatogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

if you want a tidy clean and comfortable hotel then go for it but don't expect the boutique experience

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustic34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2009

First stop on our journey. Very welcoming staff member and first impressions. Loved our sunny individually furnished and decorated room upstairs. Best breakfast we had all holiday and loved the setting in the garden conservatory. Fantastic value for money and very memorable. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2006

This comfortable hotel has pleasant rooms, each with its own individual decor and interesting furniture and antiques. Bathrooms tend to be small - ours was particularly cramped and the basin was useless.
Good breakfast with nice choices on buffet and on cooked menu. Tea/coffee and cookies and complimentary evening glass of wine available.
The hotel does have broadband internet, but you'll have to remember your own ethernet cable! Staff friendly and unobtrusive - the new owners took over late last year, and they are still working on refreshing the look of this hotel, but we wish them well.

Made a very good base for us, as our family are in Remuera, but may be too far from town for most visitors. It's a 15-20 minute drive or bus ride into downtown, but there are pleasant restaurants and cafes within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EnglishwomanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remuera
2.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel
1.1 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Ellerslie Ellerslie International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Devereux Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Devereux Boutique Hotel

Property: The Devereux Boutique Hotel
Address: 267 Remuera Road, Remuera 1050, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Remuera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Devereux Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Devereux Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing