We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Epsom Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Epsom Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This place isn't well maintained. The grounds were untidy with weeds through the paving slabs, our shower was just a dribble, the windows were dirty and the net curtains were rotten with gaping holes. It looked alright on the net, and a good deal, but the reality was much different. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    14
    16
    36
See reviews for
22
25
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The deal on the net sounded great but the reality was grim. The room was scruffy with stained and cigarette-holed bedspreads. Only one bedside lamp had a globe and globes were missing from the bathroom light and the light over the breakfast bar. No tiissues in the bathroom dispenser and barely half a roll of toilet paper (no spare) showed the meanness of the proprietor. Both the airconditioner and the television had been manipulated so that they did not work at full capacity. The fridge was in very poor repair with no basket in the door and damage to the front.. The bathroom wall sported large plaster repairs which had not been sanded or painted. The sheer curtain in the bedroom had a hole in it and the hem had come down. The carpet was frayed and stained. The "manager" arrived in his pyjamas(3 in the afternoon) to fix the airconditioner and spoke poor English. As if all this wasn't bad enough the bed was awful!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Remuera hotels

new zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed here as we got what we thought was a good deal on the room for one night. After viewing website photos we felt it looked reasonable for the price. We were wrong!
Rooms seemed clean but when you started to look more closely it was more just a surface clean. There were cobwebs on the ceiling, flies in room, somebody had spilt sugar in the guest information book so we opened it to read it fell out, tea towel had sticky stains on left on it from previous use to name a few, little things that gave the room an overall grubby feel.
The shower was also a disappointment you either got very hot water (with little pressure) or cold water.
The sign in the room for the spa pool indicated that it would take 45 minutes to heat however the manager later told us it would take 2 hours (the length of time to heat was not a problem but I don’t understand why the sign just didn’t say it would take 2 hours).
Another issue was that there is a spa pool in every room however we only had two towels so after you got out the spa pool and dried off to walk to the bathroom (across carpet) your towel was already very wet and smelt strongly of chlorine. Surely it would be logical to put 4 towels in each room?
The pillows on the bed were terrible very lumpy and hard (this seems to be common in most hotels though). Initially the room seemed to be quiet however the adjoining room was either using their heat pump or had left the spa on as there was a buzzing sound throughout the night which was irritating especially since we had encountered so many other issues already.
Overall this was a very poor and disappointing experience. It really came across that the owners / management just don’t care about guests or the presentation of the hotel.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. The only possible redeeming feature was it location which was not why we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilSood, General Manager at Epsom Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Allow me to thank you for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback. I did struggle though to find out your booking detail. Can you furnish us your dates of stay etc.. We are utterly grateful for the positive comments our valued patrons have posted in total oblivion to us. It seems from the observation/s that you are mis-informed on quite a few issues. We do not have Spa in each rooms etc. We do respect our Guest’s feedback. As a professionally run hotel, we follow –Reputed brands in the industry, strong focus on environment and sustainability and consistent track record of quality. This provides us, with the access to the highly recommended chemicals, we use in cleaning the rooms. We normally do not receive such feedback due to our stringent controls. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have gone through. I remain at your disposal and look forward to getting some more detail. Sincerely, Anil Sood General Manager,anil@haspar.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitianga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Was not overly impressed with the Haspar, the room had a grubby feel and the carpet was in need of a deep clean! Showers with mouldy silicone, old and dirty supermarket bags used in the bins, insect traps in bathroom and behind bedside table did not really instill confidence in the cleanliness. On the plus side, friendly staff, clean well starched sheets, good transport into town, and a supermarket/McDonalds not too far to get things for the kids.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilSood, Area General Manager at Epsom Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2010
Allow me to thank you for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback. I must also express my gratitude for your comment on our staff being friendly and the positive comment about our quality of room linen. We are ALWAYS grateful for the positive comments our valued patrons have posted in total oblivion to us. With the last 19 years as GM of large hotel operations, we do respect our Guest’s feedback. As a professionally run hotel, we follow –Reputed brands in the industry, strong focus on environment and sustainability and consistent track record of quality. The insect-trap – placed in inconspicuous areas of room form a part of our annual AMC’s in place in order to ensure a clean environment. We have our regular “cleaning schedule’ in-place. On the due date, as per the “Aggressive Cleaning Schedule” date, we clean all showers. I am pleased to inform you that it is happening now and will be accomplished by 3rd week April. Please allow me the opportunity of welcoming you back. I have addressed the other matters with utmost sincerity with the Housekeeping team. We normally do not receive such feedback due to our stringent controls. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have gone through and do look forward to your next visit with us. I remain at your disposal. Sincerely, Anil Sood General Manager,anil@haspar.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

We stayed here for 4 days, and were pleasantly suprised. The rooms were a good size, newly redecorated, and nice and clean. The service was good, inlcuding little extras that we needed down like faxing. Was close to the motorway and supermarket, food places etc. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelchick07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

Having stayed at a number of motels along the Greenlane-Newmarket strip I feel well qualified to say that Haspar Hotel Remuera is the best value accommodation in the area,(and possible wider Auckland). It is very reasonably priced, (I’ve stayed in dumps that charge more), very clean, quite and well appointed. The owner used to be General Manager at an Accor hotel which probably explains why the room decor reminded me of a Novotel. One of the most comfortable beds I’ve slept in away from home with new good quality linen and polite unobtrusive service. Also excellent location with good access to motorways shops and restaurants. I own an accommodation business myself and can really appreciate the work and professional approach going into this hotel. I’ll be staying again because I like the idea of supporting a family business that is really making the effort. Excellent!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flatbush38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilSood, Area General Manager at Epsom Motor Inn, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Thank you for your valuable feedback I received from our Hotel Haspar Remuera.

It is so encouraging to receive the positive feedback which serves as a 'confidence building' for our team.

It will be our pleasure to win back our customer's opinion and I do look forward to seeing you with us again.

Sincerely yours,

Anil Sood

Area General Manager

Haspar Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remuera
2.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Siesta Motel
Siesta Motel
#3 of 5 in Remuera
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#2 of 8 in Epsom
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenlane Suites
Greenlane Suites
#3 of 8 in Greenlane
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epsom Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epsom Motor Inn

Property: Epsom Motor Inn
Address: 115 Great South Road, Remuera 1051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Remuera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Epsom Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Epsom Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing