We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some Major Cleaning/Take payment before on Site”
Review of Epsom Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Epsom Motor Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Whanageri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs some Major Cleaning/Take payment before on Site”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

have just stayed in this Motel for 2 nights and wouldn't want to stay any longer. All window in the room and bathroom had black mould around them, including the front door, as well as a lot of black mould in the corner of the studio near the air conditioner. The bed cover for the Queen bed had stains all over it, I would hate to think what was on it. When I arrived I went to the reception and they informed me that they had changed my credit card... Was not impressed with this as I was going to pay cash and the web site says that you don't pay UNTIL ON SITE. At 8.30am when I went to check out, the woman had just arrived although it says on the door open from 7.30am, lucky I didn't want to leave earlier, and then she just asked if I was checking out and took the key from me, No politeness in her manner. All in all wouldn't recommend this place to stay, the only reason I have given it a 2 is because the sheets had been washed and it was a handy location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    14
    16
    39
See reviews for
23
25
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
231 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Nicely situated 2 km south of Newmarket and in close proximity to the Market Street and Greenlane motorway exits. Check in was friendly and at $80 per night through Wotif it seemed like good value but you pay for what you get. The unit was a good sized studio looking out onto a central courtyard. The inside of the windows were a bit grubby and there were no net curtains and therefore not much privacy - most of the time we had the curtains closed which wasn't ideal as the lighting was a bit dim. Cleanliness was lacking - there were cobwebs on the exterior of the building and the switch for the outside light was dirty. Inside there were stains on the bedspread and dirt build-up in nooks and crannies once one began to look closely. The TV was a small dated tube model but did have Sky. There is a microwave but the only place to wash dishes was in the bathroom sink. It got cold during our stay and the heat-pump was welcome. Car parking at the door. The weather was awful throughout our 3 days with torrential rain - the water didn't drain away well so when you walked on the paving slabs in the car park there was a squishing sound. The grounds were somewhat overgrown. This motel is overdue for having some money spent on it and just some basic care in daily cleaning and maintenance.

Room Tip: Great South Road is very busy during peak hour so try to time your arrival/ departure outside these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_M255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Remuera hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I'll start with the positives - the staff were very friendly. Not a bad price for the location.

But the unit was very unclean. The shower was tiny and impossible to find a bearable temperature. I suspect the woman and man in the room next door was a working girl and her client. Bad smell of stale smoke throughout the unit. Signs about security and extra bolts on the doors didn't make me feel secure. Finding the empty condom wrapper (not ours) under the bed was the "icing".

Summary: If you're want somewhere reasonable central and don't want to pay any more than you have to then this place might do for you. I wouldn't recommend it at all if you are traveling with children or value a hot (but not scalding) shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Friendly reception upon arrival. Room needed urgent attention...carpet replaced, net curtains replaced, bed covers and mattress covers replaced-due to stains, fridge fixed or replaced-food was frozen, perhaps screen the rubbish bins or move them, hire a gardener..... friendly suggestions...we were able to cope with this during our stay because we went out during the day and ate out - short driving distances to Newmarket, CBD etc, handy to supermarket and petrol station. The price was the initial attraction, so this motel served it's purpose for the price paid. Would pay extra elsewhere in the future. This is definitely a last resort. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This place isn't well maintained. The grounds were untidy with weeds through the paving slabs, our shower was just a dribble, the windows were dirty and the net curtains were rotten with gaping holes. It looked alright on the net, and a good deal, but the reality was much different. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The deal on the net sounded great but the reality was grim. The room was scruffy with stained and cigarette-holed bedspreads. Only one bedside lamp had a globe and globes were missing from the bathroom light and the light over the breakfast bar. No tiissues in the bathroom dispenser and barely half a roll of toilet paper (no spare) showed the meanness of the proprietor. Both the airconditioner and the television had been manipulated so that they did not work at full capacity. The fridge was in very poor repair with no basket in the door and damage to the front.. The bathroom wall sported large plaster repairs which had not been sanded or painted. The sheer curtain in the bedroom had a hole in it and the hem had come down. The carpet was frayed and stained. The "manager" arrived in his pyjamas(3 in the afternoon) to fix the airconditioner and spoke poor English. As if all this wasn't bad enough the bed was awful!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2010

We stayed here as we got what we thought was a good deal on the room for one night. After viewing website photos we felt it looked reasonable for the price. We were wrong!
Rooms seemed clean but when you started to look more closely it was more just a surface clean. There were cobwebs on the ceiling, flies in room, somebody had spilt sugar in the guest information book so we opened it to read it fell out, tea towel had sticky stains on left on it from previous use to name a few, little things that gave the room an overall grubby feel.
The shower was also a disappointment you either got very hot water (with little pressure) or cold water.
The sign in the room for the spa pool indicated that it would take 45 minutes to heat however the manager later told us it would take 2 hours (the length of time to heat was not a problem but I don’t understand why the sign just didn’t say it would take 2 hours).
Another issue was that there is a spa pool in every room however we only had two towels so after you got out the spa pool and dried off to walk to the bathroom (across carpet) your towel was already very wet and smelt strongly of chlorine. Surely it would be logical to put 4 towels in each room?
The pillows on the bed were terrible very lumpy and hard (this seems to be common in most hotels though). Initially the room seemed to be quiet however the adjoining room was either using their heat pump or had left the spa on as there was a buzzing sound throughout the night which was irritating especially since we had encountered so many other issues already.
Overall this was a very poor and disappointing experience. It really came across that the owners / management just don’t care about guests or the presentation of the hotel.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody. The only possible redeeming feature was it location which was not why we stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilSood, General Manager at Epsom Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 July 2010
Allow me to thank you for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback. I did struggle though to find out your booking detail. Can you furnish us your dates of stay etc.. We are utterly grateful for the positive comments our valued patrons have posted in total oblivion to us. It seems from the observation/s that you are mis-informed on quite a few issues. We do not have Spa in each rooms etc. We do respect our Guest’s feedback. As a professionally run hotel, we follow –Reputed brands in the industry, strong focus on environment and sustainability and consistent track record of quality. This provides us, with the access to the highly recommended chemicals, we use in cleaning the rooms. We normally do not receive such feedback due to our stringent controls. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you have gone through. I remain at your disposal and look forward to getting some more detail. Sincerely, Anil Sood General Manager,anil@haspar.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Remuera
0.5 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
#1 of 2 in Ellerslie
676 reviews
0.9 mi away
Epsom Motel
Epsom Motel
#1 of 8 in Epsom
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greenlane Suites
Greenlane Suites
#3 of 8 in Greenlane
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Epsom Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Epsom Motor Inn

Property: Epsom Motor Inn
Address: 115 Great South Road, Remuera 1051, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Remuera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Remuera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Epsom Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Epsom Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing