We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the lunatic lady”

La Rocca di Staggia
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Staggia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In Sienese territory, just a few kilometres from Poggibonsi, heading towards Monteriggioni, stands a "Knight" on theVia Francigena, la Rocca di Staggia, the stones of which, like a book, tell the tale of five centuries of history.
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Despite extensive research on the website and FB page of the Rocca, we didnt know we had to book to be able to visit the castle. So we showed up ... the Old Whitch yelled on us and scared off the kids, shouting that we had to book beforehand... there was no way we could explain her that nowhere we found the information that we had to book... So please make sure you are booking ahead before showing up... otherwise she will turn you and your family into statues of stone!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Annitaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"la rocca"
in 4 reviews
"art installations"
in 3 reviews
"off the beaten path"
in 3 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 2 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 2 reviews
"castle"
in 24 reviews
"history"
in 18 reviews
"monteriggioni"
in 4 reviews
"town"
in 5 reviews
"english"
in 3 reviews
"tuscany"
in 5 reviews
"restoration"
in 2 reviews
"euro"
in 2 reviews
"pilgrims"
in 4 reviews
"piece"
in 3 reviews
"min"
in 2 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2018

Looking for something different after seeing the same walled hilltop Tuscan town with its city center church? Then I have something for you. It's a short drive from Monteriggioni. The Staggia castle is off the beaten path and is filled with interesting modern art.
Our tour guide (you cannot visit the castle on your own without a guide) spoke decent English. Our family of 3 received a private tour (7 euros each) and it lasted about 45 min. Our guide went on a bit too much but he was very animated as he re-enacted the pilgrims' journey which was quite entertaining.
No parking at the castle but easy to find paid parking around the castle in this sleepy town.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

I think those that tell you not to come here might expect too much from an old fort castle or might not enjoy personal tours with amazing history.
It is a bit quirky because there are art installations in each room, but our amazing tour guide had a fascinating way of tying the art to history. We enjoyed every single moment we spent here.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank JennyTDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

The lady who is the tour guide is a lovely lady. She talks about freedom, falling leaves, reaching up to sun, trees in a circle. The castle is full of history but you won’t hear any history. This castle is for local use with children activities. Plenty of other castles around to see. When I asked her what a room was used for she just raised her hands in the air and said just look around. There are displays of wine but she couldn’t tell us where to buy it. All she said is women are like gold. She has been in the castle way too long. If you want peace, love, joy and freedom then it is place for you. We excused ourselves from the tour. The castle itself is fascinating.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank lindarX9371SK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

Love this place, the village and its people from different parts of Italy. The Rocca has been transformed and occasionally hosts a wedding and 'light' shows in the summer and even a music concert... it should do more in these things.
... But, it's got a hideous form of art, made from pieces of white wool , taken from the top balcony you can walk on, thrown down the one side, in some kind of resemblance to the via francigene, walked by thousands of pilgrims... but the story is now somewhat old, literally and visually. It is tiresome to see, by the local people. And even quests I take, cannot see the beauty in this spiders web of wool... you cannot take photos of this side, as it's spoilt by what has been made.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank 599nickyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Rocca di Staggia also viewed

Poggibonsi, Province of Siena
 
Poggibonsi, Province of Siena
Monteriggioni, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Rocca di Staggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing