We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activities, basic accommodation”
Review of Savage Sagana Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sagana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Savage Sagana Camp
Nairobi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great activities, basic accommodation”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

White water rafting was awesome! Excellent staff. There is a lot to do at the camp. It has a very nice riverside location and very friendly camp attendants. Great for Tweens and teens. We would definitely go back for that.

However, the accommodation is very basic and food prices seem high - we self catered. For the same price (accommodation plus food- which would come to about KES 10k for a double per night, before drinks) we stayed at the best beach hotel in Kenya (Voyager) on an all inclusive basis.

Probably better to bring your own tents and camp (KES 1k pppn)

The pool is tiny.

Room Tip: If it is adventure you are after (and this is THE place for that), take a day trip from Nairobi inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NairobiKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We had such a lovely time at Savage/Sagana. They hosted us with 73 teenagers from our school. We had to do little. They took our students in hand, taught them amazing skills: kayaking, mountain biking, rock climbing, and team building. The food was grand. The accommodations were simple but fine. All was done with a real sensitivity to nature and the country. I hope others support this business as they are having a real and positive impact on the local community. This family run business is doing the global thing and doing it well. Caveat emptor.... if one of your kids acts poorly... Chris will take care of it. In such a kind but wonderful way. He's a master of behavior management.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I rode the rapids at Athi River with Savage Team - the rapids are just like what you see on the website. It's no gimmick & it was FUN, FUN, FUN !! The Rafting trips are run by Pros using some very good equipment. The location is a wonderful getaway for the weekend even if you wish to do nothing. The rooms are very clean & food is delicious. Great place for people of all ages.

Room Tip: Rooms on other side of the stream (across from the foot bridge) seem to be better & quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEFANILARDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Savage Sagana Camp is primarily the location of the Savage Wilderness Safaris (http://www.whitewaterkenya.com/) white water rafting operation, where rafters get their pre-trip briefing before setting off on river adventures. It's also where the rafting trips end.

The site is open to non-rafters who want to enjoy being by the river - its a green oasis with an extensive area to camp with your own tent; several BBQ locations are dotted around the site and there are nice clean toilets and showers. For a little extra, you can stay in either a tented banda or a basic banda (=basic cottage), with its own bathroom and shower. If you don't want to be catered for food-wise, bring a stove and cooking equipment (even in the cottages/tented bandas which have no cooking facilities) and you are free to do your own thing.

Its only 1.5 hours from Nairobi on the main Thika Road (between Thika and Nyeri), and it's very affordable. There is a small swimming pool. The whole place is very child friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoughRoading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagana
8.3 mi away
Cravers Grill Thika
Cravers Grill Thika
#1 of 6 in Thika
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sunciti Resort Sagana
#1 of 1 in Sagana
2 reviews
18.5 mi away
Rainbow Ruiru Resort
Rainbow Ruiru Resort
#2 of 6 in Thika
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savage Sagana Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savage Sagana Camp

Property: Savage Sagana Camp
Address: Thika Road, Sagana 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Central Province > Sagana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Sagana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing