We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of cottage,  restored former harbour building which overlooks the slipway (inset photo).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage,  restored former harbour building which overlooks the slipway (inset photo).
Rear showing marine themed sitting area Sitting Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Front of cottage,  restored former harbour building which overlooks the slipway (inset photo).
Rear showing marine themed sitting area
Sitting Area
Entrance
Dining area
Kitchen area
Landing area
Bathroom
Cloakroom
View outside Harbourside
Garlieston
The Harbour Inn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Garlieston, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarDi54
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing Location”
Reviewed 6 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This was my third stay in Harbourside, which speaks for itself. The location could not be better, on a quiet road right next to the sea. The decor throughout the house is tasteful and stylish. It is extremely well-equipped. Betty and Cliff provide an excellent service, always friendly and happy to help. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a relaxing break in very comfortable surroundings.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Always reassuring to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us - in this case Margaret’s third and a very welcome guest she is too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeechBabe...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very comfy”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Great cottage, very comfy & cosy, friendly owners.

We stayed for a week in October as a family of three plus a dog. The walks from the cottage were great, a mixture of woodland and beach. A lovely fresh spring flows on to the beach just in front of the pub... great for cleaning the dog and wellies of the mud!

Forestry commission walks are good especially from the Kirroughtree centre, with walks for all abilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Lovely to hear that the Oliver family enjoyed their stay at Harbourside Cottage as they were perfect guests. Many thanks, Betty and Cliff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven S
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Definitely the best equipped self-catering holiday rental I have ever been in. They seem to have thought of everything and would thoroughly recommend to visitors.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for your positive feedback - it's always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Hope you will visit us again one day. Betty and Cliff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jewelslin...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for our son's birthday.
It was a beautiful drive up from Newcastle and we hoped to be just as lucky once there.
We were greeted from the owner who showed us around the most wonderful cottage based in the front of the harbour. It was beautiful inside and out.
Excellent decor, two lovely sized bedrooms with views over the little harbour.
The kitchen was small but was fully equipped and the living room was superb too.
An extra downstairs toilet was great, so no fighting over the bathroom.
We were blessed with excellent weather all week, which was great because there were some fabulous little walks to do before breakfast with the sea on one side and countryside on the other. The best of both worlds.
Would definitely go back. The owner was welcoming, friendly and chatted with my husband about motorbikes as her husband had one too. She made us feel as if we had been going for years.
Great for families but a car is a must, to see the surrounding area. We have been going to Scotland for over 25 years now, for fishing, walking and camping and do not tire of it. Garliston is a great base, it is a must to be explored.
Lovely little pub at the other end of the village for excellent fish and chips and steak dinners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
So glad to know that the family enjoyed their stay as they were perfect guests. Tell Terry the Triumph is running now - it's a Gold Wing trike we now can't get started! Hope you will visit again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmcareer
Dallas, TX
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Location, Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoyed our stay and the cottage is well appointed with large comfortable rooms for relaxing after a day out exploring. The decor is light and inviting, the kitchen is well stocked with dishes, hot water kettle, clothes washer/dryer, etc. The bathrooms are also well stocked, clean and spacious. The owner is very easy to work with both prior to and after arrival.
And the location allowed us easy lovely drives to explore many different sites, like the Mull of Galloway. Also the location is quiet and offers great off the road parking.
Overall this property was exactly what we had been looking for and we would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Always good to know our guests have enjoyed themselves and if you are ever passing this way again you will be most welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
1 review
“Harbourside Cottage”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lovely break in beautiful cottage well equipped cottage in Garlieston.

Would definitely go back.

Real home from home!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
Thank you Frank and Caroline - always good to know that our guests have had a good time. And perfect guests at that. Hope you return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliH8691
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage..cant wait to return!”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We arrived feeling stressed and tired (from work) and left feeling incredibly refreshed and relaxed..thank you Betty you were absolutely right about the cottage and the area!
We had a wonderful week in Harbourside Cottage which is in a great location with views of Garlieston harbour and easy access to the coastal path.
Booking was easy and Betty was on hand to meet us when we arrived with a lovely warm welcome. The cottage is spacious, tastefully decorated, well equipped and comfortable.
We loved the area...lots to explore and see; great walks; good places to eat and drink..finding a friendly welcome wherever we went. Have listed some places below and attached pictures...In order, walk to Rigg Bay; Wigtown; Isle of Whithorn; Galloway Forest Park; Mull of Galloway Lighthouse; Portpatrick Harbour & finally view from cottage itself of Garlieston Bay (we saw some stunning sunsets). As you can see we were very lucky with the weather. All I can say is...book and you won't regret it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely review. It is good to get reviews but even better to hear that our guests have had a great time and left feeling refreshed. And you were the perfect guests. Hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing