We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sardinal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I took my family there to spend a week together, It was really very nice, from the rooms to the food. we had to make reservations which they only let you do a day in advance. The buffet was also excellent, actually the kids 19-22 preferred it. Rooms were very clean and maid service was good.
We book the zip line and quading through the hotel just to be safe, which turned out better because the guys on the beach would have given us quads that were not automatics.Something to think about when your family doesn't know how to drive them. My wife and kids did get a massage on the beach for half the price and were vey happy. I take my kids every year for the past 10 years to a nice vacation and this was there 3 favorite vacation so far.
Wifi in the hotel is really bad, it works but forget about Skype or another type of communication.
Oh no High end alcohol like Kettle one, Grey Goose etc...

Room Tip: Corner rooms have bigger balcony's overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,604 - 2,610 of 4,191 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Well situated near the beach although the waves were pretty high when we were there, but the three pools were great
Good food in the restaurants . Little far to travel to points of Interest but we did the zip lining close by and it was superb fun. We dud take the longer trip for the boat ride and saw the red macaws, as well as a lot of river wildlife.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank WattGatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Wonderful honeymoon experience. Amazing service, amazing amenities, and wonderful location. Pools were marvelous, the view from anywhere was beautiful, and the beach was splendid. Drink service available from the pool to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned from a week's stay here. Impressive new. modern facility for Riu. Place was spotless. Staff was efficient, friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms were large, well-maintained. FANTASTIC WIFI throughout the resort--and free!

The large buffet restaurant was impressive with a wide selection of local and international choices. Excellent server staff, too. Was not so impressed with the themed restaurants although of the three (the Japanese, Krystal, and the Steak Place), the Steak Place had the best food selections. The Japanese restaurant's food was bland and small portions. Service there was terrible. The Krystal restaurant was only sllightly better.

Our tour rep handled our excursions and we did a number of them, white water rafting on the Tonorio River was exciting and fun. 1/2 day sport fishing, an all-day, exhausting excursion to the Arenal volcano for zip-lining and a visit to the hot springs. A great excursion to Tamarino Beach for surf lessons.

My oly suggestion for the resort (which is oddly located right next door to the Riu Guanacaste) is that there needs to be more restrooms available poolside. There was only one located in the Steak restaurant-which was a healthy walk from the farthest pool. Speaking of pools--all were well-maintained and inviting. Beach access was easy but all beaches in Costa Rica are public. That means as soon as you leave the Riu properties you are hounded by beach vendors. Not all the time but frequently. Beach was very buggy-bring bug lotion/spray.

Overall excellent resort.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pools can be a bit loud with the outside entertainment bands going on til 11PM. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wivusich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A beautiful, modern, and luxurious hotel in Guanacaste. The breakfast buffet was out of this world! The presentation of the food at the other restaurants on the property was also incredible. A very friendly and helpful staff, and a decent variety of options to sign up for excursions. It's also a nice option to take a short walk to Riu Guanacaste to spend the day at their pool, but for a romantic and luxurious experience I would recommend Riu Palace.

I admit, the area of Guanacaste is not very green (during then dry season in April), and the hotel grounds are somewhat barren looking. Going on excursions to the other side of the country (to Arenal, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio, etc.) to experience the natural beauty of the country and the green/rain forest/natural hot springs was an amazing experience! But, our time at the Riu Palace was relaxing and luxurious. We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ljeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have been to a few all inclusives and this was by far the best. We loved the modern decor of the rooms (possibly because the hotel seems to be just a couple of years old). Very clean rooms with a fully stocked mini bar at all times.
The food was excellent! We ate everything and loved all of it. The normal buffet is just as good as the specialty restaurants so don't be disappointed if you couldn't get a reservation. We tried all the restaurants and loved them. We got a surprise from a few frogs at the steakhouse. They hopped in while we were eating but you can't blame them, it was their beach first!
Pools were in great shape and there were enough lounge chairs for everyone. Loved the wait staff and absolutely miss the Dirty Monkeys (best drink ever!). It does take quite a bit of time from the time of drink order to when you receive it so we ordered 2-3 each every time :) It was to be expected as there were only a few guys taking everyone's order then heading back to the bar to make them themselves. Great staff! Always courteous and always willing to help. Very friendly!
The beach was coarse sand and the water wasn't the greatest but the walk along the beach was nice. Walk down to the monkey bar and take a look at the wild monkeys or walk the other way and notice the danger signs on some of the trees. Lizards are hiding everywhere so don't be afraid. It was nice to see all of the nature aspects still intact (ie. lizards, monkeys, etc).
Shows were entertaining. Recommend the Michael Jackson and Rock of Ages for sure. We liked the street carnival. There was a stage built on the street entering the Riu properties and both hotels were invited. Bars were setup outside with games for kids. The show was nice and we liked the change of having it outside.
Shops are just outside the hotel and aren't the greatest. As everyone has said, make sure you bring your own toiletries and necessities as they are grossly overpriced (over 5 times more than what you would spend at home). The casino wasn't our thing and neither was the disco but they are there if you want to check them out.
Overall, great experience. We would highly recommend this place. Makes us want to visit another Riu Palace for our next trip as this was our first ever Riu experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KitKat_Twix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I spent August 4 -11 here and enjoyed every moment. The resort is clean and the food was great.

The atmosphere created by the entire staff was one of calm and security making this a grand place to just lounge.

As one of those people who workout even on vacation. A complete set of weights to go along with their excellent cardio and strenght machines would be great addition to the resort.

A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sardinal
9.9 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,758 reviews
8 mi away
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
Casa Conde Beach-Front Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Panama
787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal - An All-Inclusive Resort
8.7 mi away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
2,262 reviews
20.6 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica

Address: Playa Matapalo | Sardinal Carrillo - Guanacaste, Sardinal, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo > Sardinal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sardinal
Price Range: £206 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica 4*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 24-hour all-inclusive Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica opens all year round and is located directly on the beautiful Matapalo beach. Our guests may use the facilities in the sister Hotel Riu Guanacaste, except dinner meal. RIU Palace is the most elegant category in the RIU hotel chain, with hotels that meet the highest standards in terms of luxury, excellence and sophistication, creating a unique experience. The location is ideal due to its proximity to Daniel Oduber Airport LIR (33 km) and Playas del Coco (18 km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 538 cozily furnished rooms with free Wi-Fi and offers many amenities. Relax in our spa, or get in shape at the fitness center. 4 outdoor pools, 1 children's pool. Day and evening entertainment, as well as our Pacha Discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Japanese, Italian, Fusion restaurant and Steakhouse, as well as 6 bars and our Cappuccino patisserie & ice cream parlor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing