We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Maguk Gorge

Maguk Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
US$198.92*
and up
Kakadu, Nourlangie and Yellow Waters Tour with Optional Flight over Kakadu
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

At dry season you can reach Maguc Gorge on usual car without 4WD, but road is dirt, control the speed and take care. We never visited warm rock holes before. It's amazing ! Two hours alone in Maguc Gorge, swimming and taking the sun. It was early morning and great memory for me and my wife. You plan to visit Kakadu NO, don't miss this place and better in the morning to miss the crowds!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Andy_Savin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    26
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Serenity!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The walk was pretty brutal in the heat and with the flies swarming but it was well worth the effort. The pool was beautiful and clear. What a relief to go swimming there after the heat of the day in Kakadu! No crocs in sight. A quick swim to the opposite end of the pool and you can get a massage from the falls. The walk back wasn't as bad because we were still wet from the plunge and we stopped in one of the wading areas on the way back. Pretty sure we saw a freshie croc (young one though) in the wading area but it quickly swam away from us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AnneAKAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for relaxing and swiming”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely spot for relaxing and swiming - we really enjoyed the time there with Kakadu Dreams and Mark as our guide. He showed us the secret caves... thx...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Kubaner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical Maguk Waterhole”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

serenity clear water and wonderful weather.
It was a bit of hike, not really long, but then again, I'm not that fit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiterabbitA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Words just can't describe”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

it's been an amazing experience...that touched me in so many ways...the energy, the spirituality, the rawness, the warmth, the people and the land. I'm blown away, yet again!
Twin falls is a rough ride to get there, but well worth it, its probably the most spiritial and majestic. Jim Jim, great for the swim, as you can't at twin falls due to indigenous wishes. Ubirr is amazing for the art and the views. anabangbang billabong was stunning, and quiet, you could soak in the energy. Gunlong falls is great for the family. For those without kids, make sure you get up the top, it's a steep climb but the water pools and view up the top are worth it. The whole place was one of the most amazing experiences... An absolute must!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maguk Gorge also viewed

Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Maguk Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing