We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

A group stayed for one night, there were a few hiccups but the staff did all they could to help. Food was very good, breakfast was excellent and reasonably priced. Rooms are a little dated but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude19582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    139
    136
    47
    23
See reviews for
81
222
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was initially disappointed in the fact that it was budget accom,as I had planned the holiday to be luxury,however this supposedly was the only accom left so off we go.had a lovely first day out there,then we had a drop off for others at croc accom( so called luxury) and thought if this is luxury,what's ours going to be like.was very surprised.lovely girls booking in,a very well stocked shop,basic but nice rooms .a real treat was the endless shampoo,conditioner and body lotion supplied on the wall,all for the environment ....very nice food in the restaurant and really cheap buffet breaky..as we were tired from the trip we missed all the action with the wildlife dingoes,wallabies and night birds. A must if you are going for these things. A lovely billabong near by...with AAT kings lunch was included..very basic,but the first day was fine at least the salads had dressings,but unfortunately the next days lunch was at the other resort(the luxury one) we got a look inside to see what we were missing..it was lovely but sterile and cold...we were booked to have lunch here so were hoping for something nice..couldn't have been more wrong..tomato carrot some sliced meat..so we all made rolls ..no sooner had we started,they started to pack it up.seriously. So glad we didn't stay there..will not recommend AAT kings to anyone if this is how they make their money

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Ideally located to Explore Kakadu National Park, this resort is smack bang in the middle of nowhere, but that is part of its charm.

The resort is on bore water so it is not really suitable for drinking, complimentary bottled water is available in all the rooms & is replaced daily. The rooms are neat & tidy & facilities are well maintained.

With Jabiru being the nearest town, your best option for a bite to eat or a drink are at the resort. Prices are more than reasonable and the portions size is excellent. The restaurant is available for breakfast and dinner. Prepaid breakfast vouchers are available at check in and are great value.

There is a store located on the resort that stocks necessities and snacks. Fuel is also available here.

The customer service at this resort was top notch, all the staff were friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank _Narina_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Aurora Kakadu is a great place to base yourself if you want to explore Kakadu. The room was neat and tidy, although the decor is a bit dated. The bar / restaurant was a welcome treat after a day out exploring and the buffet breakfast was a great way to start each day. The hotel is not far from the Adelaide River Jumping Croc tours and Jabiru. You will need a car to get around though as nothing is just a walk down the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Pleasant but let down by the ranchslider and insect screens which were very difficult to open / close. The resort is at far end of Kakadu, coming down the Arnhem Highway from Darwin - it has a restaurant/bar which is open for breakfast (very good) and dinner, but nothing for lunch - nearest shop / bakery was at Jabiru 40kms away.
Room was comfortable, and pool was lovely.
Reception did not appear to have received our reservation, so there was a bit of a fuss, but the staff member was lovely, and dealt with it well. She sent us off to explore, and on our return, another staff member seemed to find us a bit of a nuisance, but sorted the room out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The resort was of a lesser overall standard than we had expected regarding the style of buildings and in particular the very "cabin park" style bathrooms. Once in the rooms which were of a hardiplank style construction, we could hear every word and move from next door and upstairs.
The park like setting was very pleasant however and there were the basic amenities you would need like a pool and laundry. The dining areas were simple - connected to the bar area. Food and beverages were on par with much we that found while in the top end- on the pricy side.
My first impression of the reception staff member we checked in with was not the best. She seemed somewhat disinterested.

Location of the resort for access to the main Kakadu walking areas was pretty good with around half an hour to Jabiru, and similar onto the next main centre. Mind you if you are booked into any full day guided tours, you will need quite an early start as mostly they depart from other centres in the Park area.

We did enjoy our time in Kakadu very much overall!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Aurora Kakadu is a bit far from the main attractions. (Please don't confuse it with Aurora Lodge in Jabiru town). It's in the middle of nowhere so it's almost easy to miss. We stayed there for 2 nights in June. The rooms are average but clean and spacious and the facilities are reasonable. Reception is friendly. Due to its remote location we had dinner at the bistro both nights, and that was the best part - there were 4 of us and on both nights we had excellent meals.
Compliments to the chef!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weilee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakadu National Park
23.8 mi away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kakadu Lodge and Caravan Park
16.1 mi away
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
#1 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bullo River Station
Bullo River Station
#2 of 2 in Timber Creek
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
36.0 mi away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 4 in Kakadu National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Kakadu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Kakadu Hotel

Property: Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Address: Arnhem Highway | South Alligator River, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kakadu National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora Kakadu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Kakadu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Kakadu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing